October DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsSlow PC?RecommendedPC slow today? Run a repair scan before it gets worseResolve common Windows issues and optimize system performance.Scan NowOctober DealsAmazon USDeal season is back - check today's better picksAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
Skip to content
Entry 600Filed under Breeding

Frontline Plus for Cats: Overview, Dosage & Side Effects

FRONTLINE Plus for Cats is a topical flea and tick treatment. This guide covers the US label's application steps, age and weight limits, monthly interval, listed side effect, and how Great Britain labeling differs.
5-minute read By Animalso Team

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

FRONTLINE Plus for Cats is a topical flea and tick treatment labeled for cats. Its US label, issued by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, says to apply the whole applicator to one spot on the skin at the base of the neck, allows no more than one application per cat per month, and limits use to kittens and cats at least 8 weeks old that meet a 1.5 lb weight minimum. The one side effect that the US label explicitly names is temporary irritation where the product was applied. Great Britain’s product information for a similarly named product differs in species coverage, so the label on your package is the document to follow. This article summarizes label information only. It is not a test of the product and not individualized veterinary advice.

What FRONTLINE Plus for Cats is designed to do

The US EPA label describes FRONTLINE Plus for Cats as a topical product containing two active ingredients: fipronil 9.8% and (S)-methoprene 11.8%. Those are the composition figures printed on the label, not population or effectiveness statistics.

The label lists these control claims:

  • Fleas and flea developmental stages.
  • Several tick life stages, with specific tick types named on the label itself. Check that list on your package, because the exact tick species covered is the part that matters for your region.
  • Chewing lice.

These are label claims. They describe what the product is labeled to control, not a guarantee of results for any individual cat or household.

How the US and Great Britain labels differ

The same product name is sold in more than one country, and the labeling does not match. Keep the two jurisdictions separate when you read any instruction in this article.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
#1 Best Overall
FRONTLINE Plus Flea & Tick Spot Treatment for Cat & Kitten (Green) Count of 6
  • #1 name in flea and tick protection
  • Trusted by pet owners for over 20 years
  • Provides fast-acting, long-lasting flea and tick protection
  • Stops existing flea infestations and prevents new infestations
  • For cats and kittens 8 weeks or older weighing 1.5 pounds or more
Item United States (US EPA label) Great Britain (VMD product record and leaflet)
Product name on record FRONTLINE Plus for Cats Frontline Plus Spot-on Cat
Active substances Fipronil 9.8%; (S)-methoprene 11.8% Fipronil and (S)-methoprene; strengths not stated in the sources reviewed for this article, so check the leaflet
Target species Cats only (kittens included) Cats and ferrets
Minimum age and weight 8 weeks and 1.5 lb minimum weight Not stated in the sources reviewed for this article; check the leaflet
Marketing authorization holder Not stated in the label summary reviewed Boehringer Ingelheim Animal Health UK Limited
Document date Label accepted 2 September 2014 Leaflet revised October 2025

The US label version cited here dates from 2014. A newer label may be printed on the package you buy, so compare its wording with the summary here before you open anything. Manufacturer websites in other countries publish their own regional details, which is another reason to rely on the package insert or leaflet supplied where you live.

How the US label says to apply it

The following steps are taken from the US EPA label. They do not replace the full directions on your package.

Rank #2
Sale
FRONTLINE Plus Flea & Tick Spot Treatment for Cat & Kitten (Green) Count of 3
  • #1 name in flea and tick protection
  • Trusted by pet owners for over 20 years
  • Provides fast-acting, long-lasting flea and tick protection
  • Stops existing flea infestations and prevents new infestations
  • For cats and kittens 8 weeks or older weighing 1.5 pounds or more
  1. Read the complete package directions and the first-aid section before you open the applicator.
  2. Open the applicator.
  3. Part the cat’s hair at the base of the neck, above the shoulder blades, so the product reaches the skin. The label says not to apply on top of the hair coat.
  4. Place the tip of the applicator just above the skin.
  5. Squeeze the entire contents onto the skin in a single spot.
  6. Keep the cat away from the treated area until it is dry, and prevent the cat from swallowing the product.

Expected result: the product is labeled to be placed in one spot and left to dry, not spread over the coat. If you cannot get it onto the skin in one spot, follow the package’s instructions for what to do next rather than improvising.

Age, weight and reapplication limits

  • Minimum age: Do not use on cats under 8 weeks old. The US label says kittens are eligible from 8 weeks of age, subject to the weight minimum.
  • Minimum weight: The label sets a floor of 1.5 lb. The weight boundary is the part to read closely: the label summary describes use for cats weighing more than 1.5 lb and excludes those under that weight. Check whether your package says “over” or “at least” 1.5 lb, because that exact wording decides a cat that is close to the line.
  • Frequency: No more than one application per cat per month.
  • Reapplication interval: The label says not to reapply for 30 days after an application.

Breeding, pregnant and nursing cats

The US EPA label says FRONTLINE Plus for Cats is approved for cats including breeding, pregnant and lactating queens, and for kittens as young as 8 weeks, still subject to the weight minimum. Those are label statements, and they are the US label’s position. The Great Britain product record does not set out the same reproductive-status wording in the sources reviewed for this article, so do not carry the US statement over to a UK-labeled product without checking its leaflet.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #3
FRONTLINE Plus Flea & Tick Spot Treatment for Cat & Kitten (Green) Count of 8
  • #1 name in flea and tick protection
  • Trusted by pet owners for over 20 years
  • Provides fast-acting, long-lasting flea and tick protection
  • Stops existing flea infestations and prevents new infestations
  • For cats and kittens 8 weeks or older weighing 1.5 pounds or more

Species limits

The US label says to use the product only on cats and not on rabbits or other animals. Products labeled for dogs are not interchangeable with this one, and a dog product should not be used on a cat as a substitute. The Great Britain record lists cats and ferrets as target species for its authorized product. Those two statements do not agree, so neither label should be treated as universal.

Side effects and precautions

The side effect the US label names

The US label states: “Pets may experience some temporary irritation at the site of application.” That is the one side effect the cited label explicitly lists. The sentence describes a possible reaction at the application site; it does not give a frequency, and it does not say that irritation is the only possible adverse reaction.

Rank #4
Sale
PetArmor Plus Flea & Tick Topical Cats 1.5 lbs+, 6-Month
  • EFFECTIVE, WATERPROOF FLEA TREATMENT FOR CATS: PetArmor Plus is a waterproof, flea & tick topical prevention for cats that kills fleas, flea eggs, flea larvae, ticks, and chewing lice for up to 30 days after application.
  • TRUSTED, VET QUALITY FORMULA: Containing fipronil and (S)-methoprene, the same active ingredients as FRONTLINE Plus for Cats. PetArmor Plus for Cats has a powerful formula that starts to kill fleas within 24 hours.
  • BREAK THE FLEA CYCLE: Unlike other flea and tick treatments that may temporarily suppress flea activity, PETARMOR Plus Cat Flea Treatment works by effectively breaking the flea life cycle. Kill flea eggs and larvae to prevent re-infestation.
  • FLEA AND TICK PROTECTION: PetArmor Plus for Cats flea drops protects your furry family members from brown dog ticks, American dog ticks, Lone Star ticks, and deer ticks (which may transmit Lyme disease).
  • EASY-TO-USE, LONG-LASTING: PetArmor Plus flea and tick treatment comes with six (6) waterproof topical applications that provide your pet flea protection and control for (6) months

Ingestion, exposure and first aid

  • The label says the product is for external use only and advises against ingestion.
  • It includes first-aid instructions for eye or skin exposure. Read that section on your own package before use.
  • For certain human exposures, the label directs users to contact a poison control center or a doctor for treatment advice.

What the sources do not establish

The sources reviewed for this article do not provide a current comparative rate of adverse events in cats, and they give no published numeric adverse-event statistic for this product. Any statement that an reaction is common or rare would go beyond the label. If your cat shows a reaction at the application site or any other change after treatment, contact your veterinarian.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Comparing this product with other treatments

If you compare FRONTLINE Plus for Cats with another flea and tick product, use the same five points on both labels: species authorization and the local label, minimum age and weight, the parasites and life stages named, the application method and reapplication interval, and the precautions and listed side effects. The sources reviewed here support those label-level comparisons. They do not include head-to-head clinical trials, so they cannot show that one product works better or is safer than another.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Quick Recap

Bestseller No. 1
FRONTLINE Plus Flea & Tick Spot Treatment for Cat & Kitten (Green) Count of 6
FRONTLINE Plus Flea & Tick Spot Treatment for Cat & Kitten (Green) Count of 6
#1 name in flea and tick protection; Trusted by pet owners for over 20 years; Provides fast-acting, long-lasting flea and tick protection
$74.98
SaleBestseller No. 2
FRONTLINE Plus Flea & Tick Spot Treatment for Cat & Kitten (Green) Count of 3
FRONTLINE Plus Flea & Tick Spot Treatment for Cat & Kitten (Green) Count of 3
#1 name in flea and tick protection; Trusted by pet owners for over 20 years; Provides fast-acting, long-lasting flea and tick protection
$40.98
Bestseller No. 3
FRONTLINE Plus Flea & Tick Spot Treatment for Cat & Kitten (Green) Count of 8
FRONTLINE Plus Flea & Tick Spot Treatment for Cat & Kitten (Green) Count of 8
#1 name in flea and tick protection; Trusted by pet owners for over 20 years; Provides fast-acting, long-lasting flea and tick protection
$98.98
Bestseller No. 5
Advantage II Large Cat Topical Flea Treatment & Prevention, 4ct
Advantage II Large Cat Topical Flea Treatment & Prevention, 4ct
Fragrance-free formula, waterproof after 24 hours of application
$51.92
Best Value
Advantage II Large Cat Topical Flea Treatment & Prevention, 4ct
  • Advantage II Large Cat is a leading brand in cat flea treatment and prevention for large cats over 9 lbs., at least 8 weeks of age
  • Vet-recommended, easy-to-apply monthly topical treatment – no hard-to-swallow pills, no prescription needed
  • Delivers total flea protection – kills adult fleas, flea larvae and flea eggs through contact
  • Same-day effectiveness – kills fleas within 12 hours of application and keeps working for 30 days
  • Fragrance-free formula, waterproof after 24 hours of application

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More from Field Notes

  1. Entry 01Disaster Preparedness for Pets: What to Plan and PackBreeding6 min
  2. Entry 02Holiday Pet Safety Tips: How to Keep Dogs and Cats Safe Through the HolidaysBreeding7 min
  3. Entry 03What to Buy for a New Rescue Dog: A First-Week Essentials GuideBreeding3 min
Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.