October DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsPC HealthRecommendedCrashes, freezes, slowdowns? Check your PC nowSpot repairable issues before they interrupt work.Check PCOctober DealsAmazon USDeal season is back - check today's better picksAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
Skip to content
Entry 397Filed under Breeding

Pawfit Lite GPS Tracker Review: Specs, Subscription Costs and Coverage Limits

The Pawfit Lite is a compact, subscription-based GPS tracker for dogs. Here are its listed specs, 4G coverage limits, battery qualifications and the full cost of each plan.
7-minute read By Animalso Team
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The Pawfit Lite is a small GPS tracker that clips onto a dog’s collar and reports location over the 4G mobile network through a required subscription. It can suit an owner who wants a light, low-profile tracker and accepts an ongoing plan, but only if the dog’s regular walking areas have dependable mobile coverage and the rated battery life fits the way the tracker will be used. Shoppers often search for it with the plain question “is it any good?” This review answers that by setting out what Pawfit states about the device, its service and its costs, and by marking where the evidence stops. Everything here comes from Pawfit’s own product pages and support articles. None of the figures has been independently tested.

Hardware and listed specifications

The table below lists the values Pawfit publishes for the Lite in the United States, with the qualification that comes with each one.

Item Pawfit’s listed value What to keep in mind
Weight 0.6 oz (about 17 g) Manufacturer figure for the tracker unit.
Dimensions 41.5 × 25 × 13.8 mm Manufacturer figure. Check how the attachment sits on your dog’s collar before buying.
Battery life Up to three days Pawfit says GPS and mobile signal strength and usage affect duration. See the battery section below.
Water resistance IP68, up to 3 m for 30 minutes Pawfit’s rating. It is not an independent test result.
Connectivity 4G mobile network Depends on mobile coverage at the dog’s location and on the phone’s own connection.
Price (US page) $49.00 plus subscription Listed as available exclusively on Pawfit’s own website, per the US product page.
Included in the box Tracker, dog collar attachment, charging dock, USB cable, quick-start guide Pawfit does not describe a separately sold replacement attachment in the material reviewed.
App requirements (user manual) iOS 9.0 or later; Android 5.0 or later These minimums are old. Check the current requirements in the App Store or Google Play listing before you buy.

How the tracker connects

The Lite does not work like a Bluetooth tag that only reports when a phone is nearby. Pawfit’s US product page states:

“Pawfit Lite uses the 4g mobile network to receive and send GPS location and activity updates. Your mobile device will also require an adequate network connection to communicate with the tracker.”

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
#1 Best Overall
Pawfit Lite 4G GPS Cat Tracker, Live Tracking, Ultra-Light, Onyx Black
  • REAL-TIME GPS TRACKING & UNLIMITED RANGE: Connects to multiple satellite systems for accurate live location updates through the Pawfit app. Its built-in multi-network SIM and 4G technology let you track your cat across across Europe, North America and beyond wherever mobile network coverage is available.
  • SMART SAFETY ALERTS: Create virtual safe zones and receive instant escape notifications if your cat leaves a designated area. The built-in LED light improves visibility during evening walks and in low-light conditions.
  • LIGHTWEIGHT DESIGN & SAFETY COLLAR: Weighing less than 18g, Pawfit Lite is designed for comfortable everyday wear and includes a Pawfit breakaway collar. Its waterproof construction helps the tracker withstand rain and outdoor adventures.
  • ACTIVITY MONITORING & TERRITORY HISTORY: Monitor daily activity, set personalised exercise goals and review 24-hour location history to understand your cat’s favourite routes, territories and hangout spots.
  • REQUIRES A SUBSCRIPTION: Flexible subscription plans cover the integrated multi-network SIM card and mobile data required for tracking. Monthly and longer-term plans are available through Pawfit App.

That sentence has two practical consequences. The tracker needs a mobile signal to report, and the phone needs its own connection to show you the result. If either side drops out, the live view will lag or fail. Pawfit’s support article on where the tracker can be used lists these regions: the UK, Europe, North America, the Middle East, Hong Kong, Southeast Asia, South Africa and Australia. A region on that list does not guarantee service in every town or carrier, so confirm coverage for your own walking routes and mobile carrier.

Pawfit’s product claim of “unlimited range” should be read the same way. It describes service that is limited by network availability, not a range that holds everywhere.

Features

Pawfit’s US page lists the following features for the Lite:

Rank #2
Pawfit Lite 4G GPS Cat Tracker, Live Tracking, Ultra-Light, Simply White
  • REAL-TIME GPS TRACKING & UNLIMITED RANGE: Connects to multiple satellite systems for accurate live location updates through the Pawfit app. Its built-in multi-network SIM and 4G technology let you track your cat across across Europe, North America and beyond wherever mobile network coverage is available.
  • SMART SAFETY ALERTS: Create virtual safe zones and receive instant escape notifications if your cat leaves a designated area. The built-in LED light improves visibility during evening walks and in low-light conditions.
  • LIGHTWEIGHT DESIGN & SAFETY COLLAR: Weighing less than 18g, Pawfit Lite is designed for comfortable everyday wear and includes a Pawfit breakaway collar. Its waterproof construction helps the tracker withstand rain and outdoor adventures.
  • ACTIVITY MONITORING & TERRITORY HISTORY: Monitor daily activity, set personalised exercise goals and review 24-hour location history to understand your cat’s favourite routes, territories and hangout spots.
  • REQUIRES A SUBSCRIPTION: Flexible subscription plans cover the integrated multi-network SIM card and mobile data required for tracking. Monthly and longer-term plans are available through Pawfit App.
  • Live location and Find mode. Find mode is described with five-second location updates.
  • 24-hour location history. Shows where the dog has been over the previous day.
  • Activity monitoring and personalised fitness goals. Tracks movement against goals set in the app.
  • Safety Zones. Lets you define areas and receive alerts when the dog moves in or out.
  • Family sharing. Lets more than one person follow the same tracker.
  • Multi-pet tracking. Pawfit lists this as a feature, but the material reviewed does not say how many trackers one account supports.

The page’s plan comparison also mentions light and alarm, voice commands and map options as subscription features. Because the Basic and Premium tiers differ in these details, check the plan page for the exact feature list at the time you buy.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Battery life: what the three-day figure depends on

Pawfit lists up to three days of battery life for the Lite. Its battery support article says duration is affected by GPS and mobile signal strength, and by how the tracker is used. The article does not publish the test conditions behind the three-day figure, so treat it as an upper-end figure rather than a guarantee.

In practice, a dog that roams through areas with weak signal, or an owner who checks live location often, should expect shorter battery life than the headline number. A dog that stays in strong coverage and is tracked mainly through history and Safety Zones is the likely best case. Neither scenario has been measured here.

Rank #3
Sale
Pawfit Lite 4G GPS Cat Tracker, Live Tracking, Ultra-Light, Lilac Grey
  • REAL-TIME GPS TRACKING & UNLIMITED RANGE: Connects to multiple satellite systems for accurate live location updates through the Pawfit app. Its built-in multi-network SIM and 4G technology let you track your cat across across Europe, North America and beyond wherever mobile network coverage is available.
  • SMART SAFETY ALERTS: Create virtual safe zones and receive instant escape notifications if your cat leaves a designated area. The built-in LED light improves visibility during evening walks and in low-light conditions.
  • LIGHTWEIGHT DESIGN & SAFETY COLLAR: Weighing less than 18g, Pawfit Lite is designed for comfortable everyday wear and includes a Pawfit breakaway collar. Its waterproof construction helps the tracker withstand rain and outdoor adventures.
  • ACTIVITY MONITORING & TERRITORY HISTORY: Monitor daily activity, set personalised exercise goals and review 24-hour location history to understand your cat’s favourite routes, territories and hangout spots.
  • REQUIRES A SUBSCRIPTION: Flexible subscription plans cover the integrated multi-network SIM card and mobile data required for tracking. Monthly and longer-term plans are available through Pawfit App.

Water resistance

The IP68 rating is Pawfit’s own specification: up to 3 m of water for 30 minutes. That covers rain, mud, puddles and shallow splashing. It does not cover prolonged submersion, deep diving or swimming in conditions beyond that depth and time. Pawfit’s rating is a manufacturer claim and has not been verified independently here.

The subscription and what it really costs

Pawfit support states that a subscription is required. The US page lists two tiers. Basic includes up to 2 hours per tracked walk; Premium includes up to 6 hours per tracked walk. Both include live location, 24-hour history and activity monitoring. The table below shows the displayed monthly equivalent alongside the billed amount for each term. The last column adds the listed $49.00 device price so you can compare the first outlay across plans.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Plan Billing term Displayed monthly equivalent Billed subscription amount Tracked-walk allowance Device plus billed amount
Basic 1 month $12.99 $12.99 Up to 2 hours $61.99
Basic 1 year $7.99 $95.88 Up to 2 hours $144.88
Basic 2 years $4.99 $119.76 Up to 2 hours $168.76
Premium 1 year $8.99 $107.88 Up to 6 hours $156.88
Premium 2 years $5.99 $143.76 Up to 6 hours $192.76
Premium 3 years $4.99 $179.64 Up to 6 hours $228.64

Prices and plan terms are as displayed on Pawfit’s US product page at the time of writing and can change. The “device plus billed amount” column is simple addition of the listed figures and does not reflect any promotion, tax or regional price. Note that the monthly equivalent is a way of presenting the total; the commitment is the billed term. Choosing a one-year term over month-to-month Basic brings the first-year subscription cost from $155.88 down to $95.88 at the listed prices.

Rank #4
Sale
Pawfit Lite 4G GPS Cat Tracker, Live Tracking, Ultra-Light, Charcoal Grey
  • REAL-TIME GPS TRACKING & UNLIMITED RANGE: Connects to multiple satellite systems for accurate live location updates through the Pawfit app. Its built-in multi-network SIM and 4G technology let you track your cat across across Europe, North America and beyond wherever mobile network coverage is available.
  • SMART SAFETY ALERTS: Create virtual safe zones and receive instant escape notifications if your cat leaves a designated area. The built-in LED light improves visibility during evening walks and in low-light conditions.
  • LIGHTWEIGHT DESIGN & SAFETY COLLAR: Weighing less than 18g, Pawfit Lite is designed for comfortable everyday wear and includes a Pawfit breakaway collar. Its waterproof construction helps the tracker withstand rain and outdoor adventures.
  • ACTIVITY MONITORING & TERRITORY HISTORY: Monitor daily activity, set personalised exercise goals and review 24-hour location history to understand your cat’s favourite routes, territories and hangout spots.
  • REQUIRES A SUBSCRIPTION: Flexible subscription plans cover the integrated multi-network SIM card and mobile data required for tracking. Monthly and longer-term plans are available through Pawfit App.

Choosing between Basic and Premium

The difference between the tiers that matters most is the tracked-walk allowance. Basic caps each tracked walk at 2 hours; Premium at 6 hours. A short daily walk rarely reaches the Basic limit. A dog that is tracked on long hikes, or in a yard and countryside routine that runs past two hours, is the case where Premium’s allowance decides the choice.

  • Choose Basic if walks are typically under two hours and you want the lowest commitment.
  • Choose Premium if you track long walks or hikes, or if you want the longer multi-year billing discount on the higher tier.
  • Avoid a multi-year term until you have confirmed coverage on your regular routes, since you cannot easily exit the billed period.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

How the Lite compares with other Pawfit trackers

Pawfit’s own model comparison, published 27 October 2025, states that all models require a subscription. Battery figures are the manufacturer’s claims, not comparative test results.

Model Listed battery life Subscription required Communications and feature differences
Pawfit Lite Up to 3 days Yes Not stated in the comparison excerpt reviewed; Pawfit says communications and some features differ by model.
Pawfit 2 Up to 6 days Yes Not stated in the comparison excerpt reviewed.
Pawfit 3 Up to 8 days Yes Not stated in the comparison excerpt reviewed.
Pawfit 3s Up to 30 days Yes Not stated in the comparison excerpt reviewed.

If battery endurance matters more than a small body, the table shows that the Lite is the shortest-lasting option in Pawfit’s own lineup. The Lite’s advantage is its listed size and weight, which are the smallest of the models in the material reviewed only where Pawfit’s figures are given for it; check size figures for the other models before deciding.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Best Value
Pawfit 3 GPS Pet Tracker GPS Dog Tracker 4G Live Tracking, Smart Alerts, Fully Waterproof Activity Monitor for Pets, Unlimited Range, Remote Voice Recall, Fits All Collars, 30 Day Free Subscription
  • REAL-TIME GPS TRACKING & UNLIMITED RANGE: Connects to multiple satellite systems for accurate live location updates through the Pawfit app. Its built-in multi-network SIM and 4G technology let you track your dog across across Europe, North America and beyond wherever mobile network coverage is available.
  • SMART SAFETY ALERTS: Create virtual safe zones and receive instant escape notifications if your dog leaves a designated area. The built-in LED light improves visibility during evening walks and in low-light conditions.
  • REMOTE VOICE RECALL: Use the built-in speaker to play up to five personalised voice commands through the Pawfit app. Ideal for recall training and staying connected when your dog is out of sight.
  • LONG BATTERY LIFE & ACTIVITY MONITORING: Up to 8 days of battery life from a 2.5-hour charge (depending on usage). Monitor daily activity, set fitness goals and review your dog's 24-hour location history to better understand your dog's routine.
  • 30-DAY SUBSCRIPTION INCLUDED: Your tracker purchase includes a 30 day free subscription for a limited time only.

Who should consider the Pawfit Lite

  • Owners who want a small, light tracker and accept a required subscription.
  • Owners whose dog walks in areas with confirmed mobile coverage in one of the listed regions.
  • Owners who value a short-term plan and can accept the three-day battery figure as an upper limit.

Owners who need long battery life, who walk in rural areas with patchy signal, or who want a tracker that works without a subscription should look at other options.

Checks before you buy

  1. Confirm your phone’s operating system meets the current requirement in the App Store or Google Play listing, not only the old minimums in the manual.
  2. Check mobile coverage on the routes your dog uses most, with the carrier you use.
  3. Decide which plan tier matches your longest typical walk.
  4. Check the current price and plan terms on Pawfit’s US product page.
  5. Read Pawfit’s battery support article and plan for a shorter real-world battery life than the three-day headline if your dog roams widely.

What this review does and does not establish

The specifications, features, prices and claims above come from Pawfit’s product pages and support articles, including its model comparison published 27 October 2025. This review does not include independent battery tests, GPS accuracy measurements, signal-loss trials or hands-on use with a dog. Those are the questions that determine whether the Lite works well for a particular dog, so use the checks above to test them against your own situation.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More from Field Notes

  1. Entry 01Disaster Preparedness for Pets: What to Plan and PackBreeding6 min
  2. Entry 02Holiday Pet Safety Tips: How to Keep Dogs and Cats Safe Through the HolidaysBreeding7 min
  3. Entry 03What to Buy for a New Rescue Dog: A First-Week Essentials GuideBreeding3 min
Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.