Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches2Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems3Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteSmalls is worth trying if you want fresh, gently cooked cat food with published ingredient lists and calorie data for each recipe, delivered on a schedule you can change. It is not worth paying for on the strength of its health claims. The company’s statements about customer health outcomes, “human-grade” quality, and “vet-formulated” recipes are company statements. The sources reviewed for this article do not include an independent feeding trial or a comparative study showing that Smalls produces better outcomes than other wet foods. Prices, assortment, and delivery terms also change, so check them at checkout before ordering.
What Smalls actually sells
Smalls sells refrigerated fresh food in several recipes and textures. The company’s retail page also describes freeze-dried Puffs, broths, and treats. Recipe counts differ between page versions, so this review names recipes rather than quoting a total. The current retail listing at smalls.com/retail includes these fresh recipes:
| Recipe | Texture | Lead ingredients on the label |
|---|---|---|
| Fresh Ground Bird | Ground (finely minced) | Chicken and chicken liver |
| Fresh Smooth Bird | Smooth (pâté-like) | Not stated in the ingredient summary reviewed; see the ingredient page |
| Fresh Smooth Other Bird | Smooth | Not stated in the ingredient summary reviewed; see the ingredient page |
| Fresh Ground Other Bird | Ground | Not stated in the ingredient summary reviewed; see the ingredient page |
| Fresh Smooth Bird & Fish Dish | Smooth | Not stated in the ingredient summary reviewed; see the ingredient page |
| Fresh Smooth Pig | Smooth | Not stated in the ingredient summary reviewed; see the ingredient page |
| Fresh Smooth Fish | Smooth | Salmon and cod |
Texture matters for many cats, and it is the first choice to make. Smooth recipes are pâté-like; ground recipes are finely minced. Choose a texture your cat already accepts before comparing recipes within it.
Ingredients and nutrition are recipe-specific
Smalls does not have one ingredient list or one nutrient profile. Each recipe has its own. The company’s ingredient page shows formulas built around animal protein and organs. Added ingredients vary by recipe and can include green beans, kale, pumpkin, dried yeast, oils, taurine, minerals, and vitamin supplements. The Fresh Ground Bird label begins with chicken and chicken liver, and Fresh Smooth Fish begins with salmon and cod. Read the label for the exact recipe you are buying, not the brand summary.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
#1 Best Overall
- Supports overall health and wellness
- Low carb and protein packed
- 95% chicken, organ and bone
- No artificial preservatives and flavors
- Complete and balance for all life stages
Calories per packet
The ingredient page gives several recipes at 200 kcal per packet. Fresh Ground Bird, for example, is listed at 200 kcal per 5 oz. Fish and other recipes can use different pack weights, so calorie count alone does not show how much food a packet contains. Compare calories per packet and calories per ounce separately.
Comparing nutrient numbers fairly
Smalls’ July 24, 2026 nutrient profile reports values by recipe and texture, including moisture, protein, fat, carbohydrates, energy, and minerals. It gives dry-matter figures as well as as-fed figures. Wet food is roughly 70 to 80 percent water, so an “as-fed” protein percentage looks lower than a dry food’s number even when the food is not less nourishing. Put products on a dry-matter basis before comparing them. The conversion is simple:
Dry-matter protein (%) = as-fed protein (%) ÷ (100 − moisture %) × 100
Rank #2
- INDOOR HEALTH + DIGESTIVE SUPPORT, 4 RECIPES - Optimeal Functional wet cat food variety pack. Chicken, turkey, shrimp, salmon, beef, and rabbit in gravy and sauce. Grain free, high protein cat food for cats that need a little extra care every day.
Illustration only: a food listing 10% protein and 78% moisture has about 45% protein on a dry-matter basis, because 10 ÷ 22 × 100 ≈ 45. Use the label’s own figures, not this example.
Once the nutrient figures are on a comparable basis, use a practical cost metric:
- Price per packet divided by kcal per packet gives cost per calorie. A hypothetical $4 packet at 200 kcal costs 2 cents per calorie.
- Check the packet weight beside the calorie count when you compare recipes.
- Compare your own cost per calorie against the dry or canned food you buy now, using the same energy basis.
How much to feed, and the limits of the guide
Smalls’ feeding guide says an average adult cat typically consumes about 20 kcal per pound per day. For a 10 lb cat at goal weight, that is 200 kcal daily, which matches the single 200 kcal packet the guide uses as its example. The guide advises splitting food into meals and adjusting for ideal weight, age, health, activity, and any other food the cat eats. This is general manufacturer guidance. It is not a prescription for your cat, and the guide itself says to check with a veterinarian before changing diets.
Rank #3
- FREEZE DRIED CHICKEN HEARTS CAT TREATS – SOFT, EASY TO EAT REWARDS, 0.8 OZ BAG: High protein, grain free cat treats made with single ingredient chicken heart in a semi-soft, cuttable format for cats of all ages
- HELPS ENTICE EVEN PICKY FELINES: Freeze dried cat treats preserve the aroma cats instinctively recognize, helping attract attention and encourage interest during treating
- USA MADE WITH U.S. AND GLOBALLY SOURCED INGREDIENTS: Made with high-quality animal proteins from trusted suppliers. Chicken cat treats with no fillers, artificial flavors, or colors for nutrition and quality you can trust as a pet parent. Great for picky eaters and cats with allergies
- MEAT-FIRST REWARDS FOR OBLIGATE CARNIVORES: Made with 100% chicken heart, these grain free cat treats deliver the protein-rich nutrition cats are naturally drawn to
- SEMI-SOFT TEXTURE FOR A MORE APPROACHABLE BITE: Gentle to eat, these soft cat treats are ideal for kittens, senior cats, and felines with sensitive teeth
A typical starting routine looks like this:
- Weigh your cat, or use the most recent vet weight, and decide whether that is the goal weight.
- Calculate a daily target. For a cat near 10 lb at goal, the guide’s example is 200 kcal per day.
- Divide the day’s target across the meals you plan to serve, and confirm the kcal per packet on the recipe’s label.
- Ask your veterinarian to confirm the plan before you switch, especially if your cat has a medical condition or eats other food.
- Watch weight and appetite over the first few weeks, and adjust with your vet rather than by guesswork.
The company says its recipes are formulated with veterinary nutritionists and are complete and balanced for every life stage, as stated on its retail page. Confirm this on the nutritional adequacy statement printed on the package for the exact recipe you buy. The sources reviewed did not include independent feeding-trial results for these formulas.
How the food is cooked, and what the company says about safety
In a January 28, 2025 article, Smalls says fresh food reaches a minimum internal cooking temperature of 165°F. The same article says freeze-dried recipes go through a two-step drying and pasteurization process with a minimum internal temperature of 167°F. These are the company’s own descriptions of its process. They were not verified by an independent auditor in the sources reviewed, so treat them as the company’s stated practice. Read the food-safety article with that in mind.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →This review did not establish current recall status for any Smalls product. A search that finds no recall is not proof that none exists. Check the company’s site and the U.S. Food and Drug Administration’s recall listings before ordering, and again if you see unusual changes in your cat’s stool, appetite, or energy after a new box arrives.
Rank #4
- FREEZE DRIED MINNOWS CAT TREATS – CRISPY, BITE SIZED REWARDS, 0.5 OZ BAG: High protein cat treats made with single ingredient minnows in a light, crispy format designed for cats of all ages
- HELPS ENTICE EVEN PICKY CATS: Freeze dried cat treats preserve the aroma cats instinctively recognize, helping turn even finicky felines into eager treat seekers
- USA MADE WITH U.S. AND GLOBALLY SOURCED INGREDIENTS: Made with high-quality animal proteins from trusted suppliers. Grain free cat treats with no fillers, artificial flavors, or colors for nutrition and quality you can trust as a pet parent. Great for picky eaters and cats with allergies
- AROMA AND FLAVOR CATS INSTINCTIVELY RECOGNIZE: Made with minnows, these high protein cat snacks deliver meat-first nutrition in every bite
- CRISPY CAT TREATS WORTH PURSUING: Freeze-dried minnows provide a satisfying texture that may help support dental health while making treating more rewarding and fun for cats of all ages
Pricing, subscription terms, and the trial policy
Prices on Smalls pages are in U.S. dollars. The sampler page at smalls.com/fresh-food-sampler showed ten packs at a $52 regular price and a $26 promotional price. Promotional pricing is time-limited and may have changed, so check the live price before you rely on it.
The company’s pricing FAQ says subscription prices depend on plan size, recipe selection, and items, and that the price for your order is shown at checkout. The price you see there is the one to use for any comparison.
How the subscription works
According to the subscription FAQ:
- Shipping frequency ranges from every one week to every twelve weeks.
- After your first box, you can change delivery frequency and box size through your account.
- Smalls sends an advance email before charging.
- Orders are processed on Fridays and shipped the following week.
Confirm these terms at signup, since the FAQ describes them as the current terms and they may change.
Best Value
- PICKY EATER APPROVED: Premium raw-coated kibble cats love – our freeze-dried raw coating delivers irresistible taste that even the most selective eaters enthusiastically devour.
- HIGH-PROTEIN, ANCESTRAL NUTRITION: 65-70% animal protein with cage-free chicken as the #1 ingredient – formulated to provide the nutrient-rich diet your cat's wild ancestors thrived on.
- SMALL KIBBLE SIZE WITH DIGESTIVE SUPPORT: Perfect for kittens, senior cats, and cats with dental issues – includes natural fiber and probiotics to promote gentle digestion.
- PROMOTES HEALTHY SKIN & GLOSSY COAT: Rich in omega fatty acids from salmon oil and fenugreek seeds that visibly improve coat shine and reduce shedding – supports complete feline wellness.
- PURE QUALITY, USA CRAFTED: Grain-free recipe with NO fillers or artificial additives – responsibly sourced premium ingredients in small batches for maximum freshness and nutritional integrity.
If your cat will not eat the fresh recipes
The reviews and sampler policy page says that if your cat does not enjoy the fresh recipes in the sampler, you should contact Smalls within 30 days of delivery. The company says it will offer tips and refund the fresh-food portion if the cat still will not eat it. Add-ons and Smalls Mart orders are excluded. Keep the box packaging and note the delivery date, because the 30-day window runs from delivery.
Claims that need caution
The 88% health-improvement figure
Smalls’ health marketing page states that 88% of customers report health improvements after switching to Smalls. The undated page gives no methodology or denominator. It does not say how many customers were surveyed, how improvement was measured, or over what period. Read it as a customer-reported marketing figure, not clinical evidence and not a predicted result for your cat.
The veterinarian endorsement
The sampler page attributes this sentence to Dr. Sarah Mitten, identified there as a veterinarian and member of the Smalls Veterinary Council: “Smalls is real food made for a cat’s carnivorous nature.” It is a company-page endorsement. The page does not describe a study behind it.
What is missing
The sources reviewed contain no named independent comparative study or feeding trial showing that Smalls outperforms comparable wet foods. A comparison between fresh food and canned food is therefore a comparison of format and published label data, not of health outcomes.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Is it worth trying?
For many owners, yes, as a monthly or occasional trial. The strongest reasons are practical: recipe-specific labels, calorie data you can check, a clear feeding example, a 30-day window to contact the company if a cat refuses the fresh recipes, and a subscription you can pause or adjust. The weakest part is the evidence behind health claims. Buy because the food suits your cat’s texture and calorie needs and fits your budget, not because of the 88% figure or the word “human-grade.”
Quick Recap
Before you order, confirm the following:
- The live price at checkout, and whether a promotional rate applies.
- The recipe’s ingredient list, calories per packet, and nutritional adequacy statement on the package.
- Your veterinarian’s agreement to the daily calorie plan.
- The current subscription terms and the sampler refund policy.
- Recall status on the company site and the U.S. Food and Drug Administration’s recall listings.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




