Bravecto for cats is a prescription topical solution containing fluralaner. The U.S. label, dated June 22, 2026, directs one topical dose selected by the cat’s body weight, given every 12 weeks, or every 8 weeks when American dog tick exposure is possible. Which tube, which schedule, and whether your cat qualifies depend on the parasite, the cat’s age, and the cat’s weight, so the product should be selected by a veterinarian. Price is not a single published number; it varies with the weight band, the number of tubes, the seller, and the veterinary visit that comes with it.
What Bravecto for cats is and how it is obtained
Bravecto for cats is a fluralaner topical solution. Fluralaner belongs to the isoxazoline class of parasiticides. In the United States it is a prescription animal drug, restricted to use by or on the order of a licensed veterinarian. It is not sold as an over-the-counter product, and a cat owner should not expect to buy it without a veterinary prescription.
The product is applied to the skin, not given by mouth. The label is explicit that it should be used topically as directed and that oral ingestion should be avoided.
How the labeled dose is chosen
The label selects one tube by body weight. The labeled minimum is 40 mg/kg, which equals 18.2 mg per pound. The table below shows the labeled tube for each weight band.
Recommended Free Tools
#1 Best Overall
- Fast-acting, safe and easy treatment
- BRAVECTO Topical lasts nearly 3X longer than other monthly treatments
- Up to 12 weeks* of flea & tick protection with just 1 dose!
- Easy to use non-spill, Twist’n’Use applicator. Do not give orally.
- Did you know.. indoor cats can get fleas and ticks too?!
| Cat body weight | Labeled tube | Fluralaner per tube |
|---|---|---|
| 2.6 to 6.2 lb | One tube | 112.5 mg |
| Over 6.2 to 13.8 lb | One tube | 250 mg |
| Over 13.8 to 27.5 lb | One tube | 500 mg |
| Over 27.5 lb | Appropriate combination of tubes | As determined from the labeled schedule |
Table values are from the June 22, 2026 U.S. label and the FDA Center for Veterinary Medicine’s June 12, 2026 Freedom of Information Summary for supplemental approval NADA 141-459, which confirms the tube sizes.
Cats heavier than 27.5 lb
The label does not assign a single tube for these cats. A combination of tubes is used, and the amount is determined from the labeled schedule. The veterinarian should confirm the combination before any product is dispensed.
Rank #2
- Fast-acting, safe and easy treatment
- BRAVECTO Plus lasts nearly 2X longer than other monthly treatments
- Up to 2 months of flea & tick protection with just 1 dose!
- Easy to use non-spill, Twist’n’Use applicator. Do not give orally.
- Did you know.. indoor cats can get fleas and ticks too?!
What not to do with the dose
- Do not split a tube or combine tubes on your own for a cat in a lower weight band.
- Do not substitute a dog product, even if it carries the Bravecto name.
- Do not shorten or lengthen the interval, or redose early, without a veterinarian’s instruction.
How long each dose lasts, and who is eligible
The label does not treat every parasite the same. Coverage duration and minimum age differ by parasite, so the schedule should be matched to the parasites that are actually a risk where the cat lives.
| Parasite (labeled indication) | Labeled dosing interval | Minimum age and weight |
|---|---|---|
| Fleas | 12 weeks | Cats and kittens at least 12 weeks old and at least 2.6 lb |
| Black-legged, Asian longhorned, and Gulf Coast ticks | 12 weeks | At least 6 months old and at least 2.6 lb |
| American dog ticks | 8 weeks for potential exposure | At least 6 months old and at least 2.6 lb |
The age difference is easy to miss. Flea coverage is labeled from 12 weeks of age, while the tick indications require 6 months. A young kitten that needs flea control is not automatically eligible for the tick indications. Some manufacturer web pages still show older age language; where that copy differs from the June 22, 2026 label, the label controls.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Rank #3
- Advantage II Large Cat is a leading brand in cat flea treatment and prevention for large cats over 9 lbs., at least 8 weeks of age
- Vet-recommended, easy-to-apply monthly topical treatment – no hard-to-swallow pills, no prescription needed
- Delivers total flea protection – kills adult fleas, flea larvae and flea eggs through contact
- Same-day effectiveness – kills fleas within 12 hours of application and keeps working for 30 days
- Fragrance-free formula, waterproof after 24 hours of application
Over a year, a 12-week interval means about four to five doses. An 8-week interval means about six to seven doses.
Safety limits and when to be cautious
- The label does not establish safety in breeding, pregnant, or lactating cats.
- Application should be demonstrated or explained by a veterinarian or veterinary technician before the first use.
- Apply only the amount directed. Avoid applying an excessive amount that could run or drip off the cat.
- Use caution in cats with a history of neurologic disorders.
Side effects and the neurologic warning
Commonly reported adverse reactions
The label lists the following as commonly reported: vomiting, itching, diarrhea, hair loss, decreased appetite, lethargy, and scabs or ulcerated skin lesions. The label does not give rates for these reactions, and listing a reaction does not mean a cat will experience it.
Rank #4
- Advantage II Large Cat is a leading brand in cat flea treatment and prevention for large cats over 9 lbs., at least 8 weeks of age
- Vet-recommended, easy-to-apply monthly topical treatment – no hard-to-swallow pills, no prescription needed
- Delivers total flea protection – kills adult fleas, flea larvae and flea eggs through contact
- Same-day effectiveness – kills fleas within 12 hours of application and keeps working for 30 days
- Fragrance-free formula, waterproof after 24 hours of application
Neurologic reactions in the isoxazoline class
Fluralaner is an isoxazoline, and the class has been associated with neurologic adverse reactions, including tremors, ataxia (loss of coordination), and seizures. These are the reactions that most warrant prompt attention. Contact your veterinarian about any suspected reaction rather than repeating a dose or deciding on treatment at home.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Why the cost of Bravecto for cats varies
No reliable, current U.S. retail price for Bravecto for cats was established from the sources reviewed, so this article does not give a national average. A quote is shaped by several factors:
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Best Value
- Fast-acting, safe and easy treatment
- BRAVECTO Plus lasts nearly 2X longer than other monthly treatments
- Up to 2 months of flea & tick protection with just 1 dose!
- Easy to use non-spill, Twist’n’Use applicator. Do not give orally.
- Did you know.. indoor cats can get fleas and ticks too?!
- Weight band: the tube size changes with the cat’s weight.
- Number of tubes: cats over 27.5 lb need a combination of tubes.
- Schedule: an 8-week interval costs more per year than a 12-week interval.
- Seller and location: clinics and pharmacies set their own prices.
- Veterinary charges: an examination or prescription fee may be added to the product price.
- Shipping: online sellers may add delivery costs.
To compare fairly, ask for a written quote that lists the product, tube size, number of doses, the exam or prescription fee, and any shipping cost, and note the date it was given. A pharmacy listing or manufacturer rebate should be checked at the time of purchase before it is treated as a current price.
Bravecto and Bravecto Plus are different products
Bravecto Plus is not a larger version of the cat product. It contains fluralaner plus moxidectin and has its own two-month regimen, so the two should not be treated as interchangeable. A veterinarian chooses between them based on the parasites that are a risk for the cat and on the cat’s health.
| Comparison point | Bravecto for cats | Bravecto Plus |
|---|---|---|
| Active ingredients | Fluralaner | Fluralaner plus moxidectin |
| Dosing interval | 12 weeks, or 8 weeks for potential American dog tick exposure | Two-month regimen |
| Labeled parasites and minimum age | As listed in the table above | Not stated in the sources reviewed; confirm on the product’s own label |
| Route | Topical | Not stated in the sources reviewed; confirm on the product’s own label |
Next steps before the first dose
Book a veterinary visit so the veterinarian can confirm the cat’s weight, age, parasite risks, and neurologic history, then select the tube and schedule. Ask the clinic to demonstrate the application, and bring the cat’s weight from the most recent visit. Report any unusual change after a dose to the veterinarian promptly.
The June 22, 2026 U.S. label is the controlling reference for approved indications, eligibility, dosing, and adverse reactions. Your veterinarian’s direction for your individual cat takes precedence over general information.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute2Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors3Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesQuick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




