Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Halo is a mainstream, U.S.-sold cat food line with dry and wet options, and its published labels show formulas built on meat-first ingredients, high protein and calorie figures that are clearly stated. The labels we reviewed are formulated to meet AAFCO maintenance levels for adult cats, which makes them a reasonable choice for a healthy adult cat, but not a kitten food and not a treatment diet. Whether a particular Halo formula is “good” depends on which recipe it is, what your cat weighs, how active it is, and whether it has a medical condition. This review works through the specific products Halo publishes, so you can check the exact label in your hand.
What Halo’s current range includes
Halo’s Holistic cat food collection currently groups dry and wet products across several life-stage and purpose categories. The main groupings are:
- Adult and kitten dry formulas
- Indoor and weight-support dry formulas
- Wet adult and indoor formulas, including pâtés and stews
- Sensitive-stomach formulas, which Halo positions around digestive support
Halo states that its products are fulfilled through Chewy and Amazon. Retailer availability, pack sizes and prices change, so confirm them on the listing before you buy.
How the sampled formulas compare
The four products below are the ones whose full published label figures were reviewed for this article. Dry and wet guaranteed analyses are stated on different bases because wet foods contain far more water, so compare calories and moisture first, not protein percentages alone.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →#1 Best Overall
- PREMIUM WHOLE CAGE-FREE CHICKEN: Fuel your cat with high-quality protein. Real, whole chicken is the primary ingredient in our premium dry cat food to support muscle maintenance without any chicken meals
- DIGESTIVE CARE & WEIGHT MANAGEMENT: Advanced prebiotics, probiotics, and postbiotics support gut health and digestibility, while reduced fat and calorie levels help maintain a lean body mass
- GRAIN-FREE NUTRITION: Crafted entirely grain-free to protect against common food sensitivities, our dry cat food recipe is gentle on sensitive stomachs and formulated with no corn, wheat, or soy
- HEALTHY SKIN & RADIANT COAT: Nourish your cat from the inside out with a precise balance of essential omega fatty acids that targets dry skin and promotes a shiny coat
| Product | Format | Adequacy statement | First ingredients listed | Min. crude protein | Min. crude fat | Max. crude fiber | Max. moisture | Energy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Holistic Healthy Grains Cage-Free Chicken Recipe, Adult | Dry | Adult maintenance | Deboned chicken, brown rice, pork, oats | 33% | 17% | 5% | 9% | 3,910 kcal/kg; 444 kcal/cup |
| Holistic Healthy Grains Wild-Caught Salmon and Whitefish, Adult | Dry | Adult maintenance | Salmon, whitefish, oats, pork | 33% | 17% | 5% | 9% | 3,885 kcal/kg; 442 kcal/cup |
| Grain Free Chicken Recipe in Broth Soft Pâté, Adult (5.5 oz can) | Wet | Adult maintenance | Chicken, chicken broth, chicken liver | Not stated on the product page | Not stated on the product page | Not stated on the product page | Not stated on the product page | 160 kcal per can |
| Indoor Salmon Wet Pâté (5.5 oz can) | Wet | Adult maintenance | Salmon, water, turkey, turkey liver | 10% | 7% | 0.75% | 78% | 174 kcal per can |
Source for the figures: Halo’s product pages, linked in the sections below. The chicken wet product page does not state its guaranteed analysis in the content reviewed, so check the can label for those numbers.
Halo Holistic Healthy Grains Cage-Free Chicken Recipe, Adult dry
This is the most detailed label in the range. Deboned chicken is listed first, followed by brown rice, pork and oats, with peas, chicken fat, egg product, sweet potato, cranberries, flaxseed, salmon oil, taurine, vitamins and minerals further down the list. Halo’s guaranteed analysis adds a taurine minimum of 0.15%, an omega-3 minimum of 0.9%, an omega-6 minimum of 3.6%, and a minimum of 500,000,000 CFU per pound of Bacillus coagulans.
The product page states adult maintenance adequacy and gives the following feeding guide. Halo notes that needs vary with age, size and activity, so treat this as a starting point:
| Cat weight | Daily amount (Halo’s starting guide) |
|---|---|
| 5 lb | 1/3 cup |
| 10 lb | 2/3 cup |
| 15 lb | 1 cup |
| 20 lb | 1 1/4 cups |
For cats above 20 pounds, Halo says to add 1/3 cup for each additional 5 pounds. Because this is a calorie-dense kibble (444 kcal per cup on the label), a cat that gets a little more than the guide can gain weight quickly. Check the amount against your cat’s body condition every few weeks. Product details are on the Cage-Free Chicken Adult Dry product page.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches2Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors3Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteRank #2
- PREMIUM WHOLE WILD-CAUGHT FISH: Fuel your cat with high-quality protein. Real, whole wild-caught whitefish is the primary ingredient in our premium dry cat food to support muscle maintenance without any fish meals
- SENSITIVE STOMACH SUPPORT & DIGESTIVE CARE: Support your pet's immune system and sensitive stomach with an advanced blend of prebiotics, probiotics, and postbiotics designed for improved digestibility and gut wellness
- HEALTHY GRAINS FOR ENERGY: Power daily activity with highly digestible rice and non-GMO vegetables, formulated with no corn, wheat, or soy
- HEALTHY SKIN & RADIANT COAT: Nourish your cat from the inside out with a precise balance of essential omega fatty acids that targets dry skin and promotes a shiny coat
- RESPONSIBLY SOURCED INGREDIENTS: Feed confidently with a natural cat food cooked in the USA using MSC certified wild-caught fish and antioxidant-rich fruits and vegetables
Halo Holistic Healthy Grains Wild-Caught Salmon and Whitefish, Adult dry
Salmon and whitefish lead the ingredient list, followed by oats and pork. The guaranteed analysis matches the chicken formula at 33% minimum protein, 17% minimum fat, 5% maximum fiber and 9% maximum moisture. The energy figures are slightly lower, at 3,885 kcal/kg and 442 kcal/cup.
The practical difference between these two dry foods is the protein source and the fish-based ingredient profile, not their nutritional density. Halo states that its salmon is MSC-certified and describes prebiotic, probiotic and postbiotic inclusions; these are company statements about sourcing and digestive support, not independent findings. The feeding table follows the same weight-based format as the chicken recipe. See the Salmon and Whitefish Adult dry product page for the full label.
Halo Grain Free Chicken Recipe in Broth Soft Pâté, Adult wet
This wet food lists chicken, chicken broth and chicken liver first, and is sold in 5.5-ounce cans. The product page gives 160 kcal per can and states adult maintenance formulation.
Halo’s starting guide is 1 ounce of food per pound of body weight per day, divided into two servings. For a 10-pound cat, that is about 10 ounces a day, or roughly 1.8 cans. At the label’s 160 kcal per can, that works out to about 290 kcal per day. This is our arithmetic from the label figures, not a measured intake. Wet food is a good fit for cats that drink too little water or prefer moist textures, but it is more expensive per calorie than most dry foods, so factor price into the decision. The Chicken Adult Wet product page has the full ingredient list.
Rank #3
- PREMIUM WHOLE WILD-CAUGHT FISH: Fuel your cat with high-quality protein. Real, whole wild-caught salmon and whitefish are the primary ingredients in our premium dry cat food to support muscle maintenance without any fish meals
- DIGESTIVE CARE & WEIGHT MANAGEMENT: Advanced prebiotics, probiotics, and postbiotics support gut health and digestibility, while reduced fat and calorie levels help maintain a lean body mass
- GRAIN-FREE NUTRITION: Crafted entirely grain-free to protect against common food sensitivities, our dry cat food recipe is gentle on sensitive stomachs and formulated with no corn, wheat, or soy
- HEALTHY SKIN & RADIANT COAT: Nourish your cat from the inside out with a precise balance of essential omega fatty acids that targets dry skin and promotes a shiny coat
- RESPONSIBLY SOURCED INGREDIENTS: Feed confidently with a natural cat food cooked in the USA using MSC certified wild-caught fish and antioxidant-rich fruits and vegetables
Halo Indoor Salmon Wet Pâté
Halo’s indoor salmon pâté lists salmon, water, turkey and turkey liver near the top of its ingredients. Its label reports 10% minimum crude protein, 7% minimum crude fat, 0.75% maximum crude fiber, 78% maximum moisture and 174 kcal per 5.5-ounce can. The page states adult maintenance formulation, and its feeding direction varies by weight range, so use the table on the can or the product page rather than a generic amount.
Halo says its indoor formulas are lower in fat and calories for cats that are less active. That is a company claim about formula design. The labeled figures show a lower-calorie wet food than the chicken pâté (174 kcal versus 160 kcal per can, so the chicken version is actually lower in calories per can). Compare calories per can, and check the label’s feeding table, not the marketing description alone. The product details are on the Halo Holistic Cat page.
Reading the label: adequacy statement and life stage
Every formula discussed here carries an adequacy statement for adult maintenance. The Association of American Feed Control Officials (AAFCO) explains that this statement identifies the life stage a food is intended for, and that a formulation statement is different from a feeding-trial statement. A maintenance food meets nutrient profile levels for adult cats; it is not labeled for growth or for all life stages. Do not feed an adult maintenance formula to a kitten and expect it to meet growth needs. Use the AAFCO reading labels guidance to check the statement on your own bag or can.
Ingredients are listed by weight, but the list does not show how much of each ingredient the food contains. A meat listed first does not tell you its proportion of the formula, and it does not establish that the food suits one cat better than another.
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchWindows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallRank #4
- PREMIUM WHOLE WILD-CAUGHT FISH: Fuel your cat with high-quality protein. Real, whole wild-caught salmon and whitefish are the primary ingredients in our premium dry cat food to support muscle maintenance without any fish meals
- COMPLETE DIGESTIVE CARE: Support your pet's immune system with an advanced blend of prebiotics, probiotics, and postbiotics designed for improved digestibility and gut wellness
- HEALTHY GRAINS FOR ENERGY: Power daily activity with nutritious oats and non-GMO vegetables, formulated with no corn, wheat, or soy
- HEALTHY SKIN & RADIANT COAT: Nourish your cat from the inside out with a precise balance of essential omega fatty acids that targets dry skin and promotes a shiny coat
- RESPONSIBLY SOURCED INGREDIENTS: Feed confidently with a natural cat food cooked in the USA using MSC certified wild-caught fish and antioxidant-rich fruits and vegetables
Halo’s brand claims and how to read them
Halo’s Holistic brand page says the refreshed recipes remove soy, increase protein and omega fatty acids, and add prebiotics, probiotics and postbiotics. Its official FAQ states: “For Halo Holistic, we removed soy from all recipes — a common request from our pet parents.” These are manufacturer statements about recipe design. They do not, on their own, show a health outcome, such as better digestion or stronger immunity.
Halo also says that not all of its ingredients qualify as human-grade. The company promotes whole-animal protein, non-GMO ingredients and sourcing certifications. Treat these as Halo’s claims and check the product label for the specifics you care about.
Halo recommends a gradual transition when switching to the refreshed recipes. A common approach is to mix a small share of the new food into the old and increase it over several days, watching stool quality and appetite. Halo’s pages do not give a single fixed schedule in the material reviewed, so follow the transition guidance printed on your product or from your veterinarian.
Recall history
The FDA explains that recalls can be voluntary, requested by the agency, or ordered under statutory authority. The FDA recalls and withdrawals page shows current and recent recall notices, but it does not give a complete historical record for any single brand. A secondary history page, Petful’s Halo recall history, reports a 2015 incident involving a Halo Spot’s Stew cat food and possible mold. That page’s summary and its dates conflict with each other, so treat the historical claim as unconfirmed until you find a primary company or FDA notice.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Best Value
- PREMIUM WHOLE CAGE-FREE CHICKEN: Fuel your cat with high-quality protein. Real, whole chicken is the primary ingredient in our premium dry cat food to support muscle maintenance without any chicken meals
- COMPLETE DIGESTIVE CARE: Support your pet's immune system with an advanced blend of prebiotics, probiotics, and postbiotics designed for improved digestibility and gut wellness
- HEALTHY GRAINS FOR ENERGY: Power daily activity with nutritious brown rice and non-GMO vegetables, formulated with no corn, wheat, or soy
- HEALTHY SKIN & RADIANT COAT: Nourish your cat from the inside out with a precise balance of essential omega fatty acids that targets dry skin and promotes a shiny coat
- RESPONSIBLY SOURCED INGREDIENTS: Feed confidently with a natural cat food cooked in the USA using certified humanely raised chicken and antioxidant-rich fruits and vegetables
If you want to verify Halo’s record, search the FDA recalls archive and Halo’s own announcements for the product name and lot number on your package. Halo’s wet product pages caution against feeding from dented or compromised cans, which is good practice for any canned food.
Who should choose Halo, and who should check with a veterinarian
Halo is a reasonable option for an adult, healthy cat that does well on a meat-first, high-calorie diet, and for owners who want a clear label with a published guaranteed analysis and feeding table. Its indoor wet formula and its weight-support positioning are sensible starting points for less active cats, provided you monitor body condition.
Check with a veterinarian before choosing Halo if your cat:
- Is a kitten, pregnant or nursing, or has a life stage that the adult maintenance statement does not cover
- Has a diagnosed condition, such as kidney disease, urinary issues, or food allergy, that may need a therapeutic diet
- Has persistent vomiting, diarrhea, weight loss or other symptoms that continue after a food change
- Needs a specific calorie or nutrient target that the feeding table cannot give
The collected label figures do not establish that any Halo formula is a treatment diet, and the company’s sensitive-stomach positioning is a claim, not a clinical result. For the sensitive-stomach line, read the label on the actual package and discuss the choice with your vet before relying on it for a digestive problem.
Recommended Free Tools
In short, Halo’s labeled adult formulas are adequate and transparent for maintenance feeding, and the wet and dry choices suit different households. Choose the exact formula for your cat’s life stage and check the feeding amount against its weight.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




