Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems2Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches3Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsCats.com rates I and Love and You cat food 7.5/10 (45/60, B+), but that brand-level score is only a starting point: the foods differ by recipe, format, nutrition, and intended use. Cats.com says its reviewer researched the brand, sourcing, manufacturing, and recall history, then tried two wet foods and one dry food at home. The rating is an editorial assessment—not a veterinary recommendation or a clinical feeding trial.
What is Cats.com’s verdict on I and Love and You?
Cats.com gives the brand 7.5/10 overall, equivalent to 45/60 and a B+ grade. Its scoring considers species appropriateness, ingredient quality, variety, price, customer experience, and recall history. The review gives customer experience stronger marks than ingredient quality. Treat the number as Cats.com’s comparative editorial judgment, not a measure of whether a specific recipe suits an individual cat.
The reviewer reports ordering and evaluating two wet recipes and one dry recipe at home, alongside research into the brand and its sourcing and manufacturing. That is a small sample of a range with multiple formulas; it cannot establish that every recipe has the same ingredients, nutrition, or palatability. Read the full Cats.com review for its scoring and recipe observations.
Which foods does the brand sell?
Cats.com describes several dry and wet lines. Product availability and formulas can change, so use these names as a guide to the reviewed range rather than a guarantee that every item is currently sold.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →#1 Best Overall
- Fish is #1 Ingredient - Since the dawn of time, cats have loved their protein—so that’s why this dish is packed with delicious, crunchy bites of the good stuff: sustainably-sourced salmon and trout.
- Protein-Rich - Packed with 34% protein! This bag of kibble boosts your pet’s energy and helps them maintain lean muscle mass.
- Pre & Probiotics for Easy Digestion - Nature’s mighty little biotics work hard to ensure your pet’s gut is in tiptop shape.
- Holistic Nutrition - Added with care and approved by our in-house holistic vet, Dr. Angie. These handpicked, balanced ingredients nourish the body from head to paw.
- Filler Free - We don’t use fillers to bulk out your pet’s food to help us save a buck or two. There’s no nutritional value and it can contribute to obesity and lethargy. #Nope
| Format | Line | How Cats.com describes it |
|---|---|---|
| Dry | Naked Essentials | Grain-free recipes |
| Dry | Nude Super Food | Marketed around digestive support |
| Dry | Lovingly Simple | Limited-ingredient recipes |
| Wet | Original | Single-protein recipes |
| Wet | XOXO | Dual-protein recipes |
| Wet | Feed Meow | Pouches positioned around particular benefits |
These are product and marketing descriptions, not proof that a food is suitable for a medical condition or that a cat will tolerate it. The manufacturer says products may be discontinued and advises customers to contact the brand for substitutions. Check current listings and the actual package before buying.
What do the ingredients and nutrition tell you?
Compare the specific recipe’s current label rather than relying on broad claims about the brand. Cats.com highlights Whascally Wabbit pâté and Oh My Cod! pâté as wet examples and Naked Essentials Chicken & Duck as a dry example. In Whascally Wabbit, the reviewer notes rabbit as the primary protein, beef liver as another meat ingredient, and salmon oil. Those details apply to that recipe as reviewed; verify the current ingredient list because formulas may change.
Rank #2
- Pâté - A deliciously smooth, and decadent texture.
- Real Poultry, or Fish is #1 Ingredient - Since the dawn of time, cats have loved their protein—so that’s why this dish is packed with delicious, succulent bites of the good stuff.
- Hydration Boost - Your cat gets to enjoy flavorful, nourishing broth to ensure they’re getting enough H20 (without even knowing it!) every day.
- Grain-Free - Absolutely no corn, wheat, rice, soy, or oats in sight. We don’t pack your pet’s food with grains just to help us save a buck or two.
- Filler-Free - Unlike other brands, we don’t use ingredients like rice or corn to bulk out your pet’s food because we know there’s little nutritional value and it can contribute to obesity and lethargy.
Secondary analyses offer additional context, but their figures do not represent manufacturer guarantees or every recipe in the current range:
| Analysis | Reported values | Scope and limitation |
|---|---|---|
| CatFoodAdvisor wet-food review | 44.5% average dry-matter protein, 20.2% average fat, and 27.3% estimated carbohydrate | Secondary estimates averaged across the analyzed wet range; publication year and exact recipe set are not stated on the retrieved page. CatFoodAdvisor wet review |
| CatFoodAdvisor dry-food review | 42.5% average protein, 15.4% average fat, and 34.1% estimated carbohydrate | Secondary estimates averaged across the analyzed dry range; publication year and exact recipe set are not stated on the retrieved page. CatFoodAdvisor dry review |
| Chicken Me Out pâté | 99 calories per 100 g, estimated | CatFoodDB’s ingredient and energy information was collected from manufacturer data on November 13, 2021; it lists chicken, chicken liver, and chicken broth among leading ingredients, with guar gum and salmon oil farther down the list. Historical secondary information, not a current label check. CatFoodDB recipe analysis |
| Naked Essentials Chicken + Duck | 350 calories per 100 g, estimated | CatFoodDB’s analysis uses manufacturer information retrieved November 13, 2021. It identifies chicken, chicken meal, turkey meal, and duck among quality ingredients and pea starch as a questioned ingredient; confirm the current formula and calorie statement on the package. CatFoodDB recipe analysis |
Dry-matter percentages help compare foods after accounting for moisture, but they do not replace the guaranteed analysis on the food you are considering. CatFoodAdvisor’s line averages are useful only as broad secondary estimates; they are not promises about a particular can, pouch, or bag.
Rank #3
- Meat is #1 Ingredient - Since the dawn of time, cats have loved their protein—so that’s why this dish is packed with delicious, crunchy bites of the good stuff: USA farm-raised chicken and duck.
- Protein-Rich - Packed with 34% protein! This bag of kibble boosts your pet’s energy and helps them maintain lean muscle mass.
- Pre & Probiotics for Easy Digestion - Nature’s mighty little biotics work hard to ensure your pet’s gut is in tiptop shape.
- Non-GMO Protein & Produce - When it comes to your pet’s veggies and protein, GMOs aren’t invited to the party. #SorryNotSorry
- Grain-Free - Absolutely no corn, wheat, rice, soy, or oats in sight. We don’t pack your pet’s food with grains just to help us save a buck or two.
How to choose a recipe for your cat
Use the current product page and package to answer these questions before switching foods. The manufacturer says product pages provide ingredient lists, guaranteed analyses, and feeding guidelines.
- Is it complete and appropriate for your cat’s life stage? Read the AAFCO nutritional adequacy statement on the label. A recipe name or marketing term does not establish life-stage adequacy.
- What does the full label say? Check the guaranteed analysis, named animal proteins, ingredients your cat must avoid, moisture, and calories per can, pouch, or cup. Do not assume the recipe examples or historical database entries above match today’s label.
- How much would your cat actually eat? Use the package’s feeding guidance as a starting point, then account for your cat’s needs and total daily calories. Cats.com’s review gives historical estimates of about $3.06–$3.84 per day for wet food and about $0.65 per day for dry food for a 10-pound cat; these are dated estimates, not current prices or individualized feeding instructions.
- Does the recipe suit a health concern? For a medical diet, diagnosed condition, or other health concern, ask your veterinarian before choosing or changing food. The available evidence does not establish that a particular I and Love and You recipe treats a disease or that all formulas have undergone independent clinical trials.
- Does your cat tolerate the change? The manufacturer recommends introducing new food gradually so a cat’s digestion can adjust. Monitor appetite and tolerance during the transition and contact your veterinarian if you have concerns.
The manufacturer says most of its products are grain-free, but it does not guarantee that grain-free products are gluten-free because they are made in a facility that also handles grains. It also says the food is not organic; its FAQ answers the organic question, “At this time, no.” These are manufacturer statements. “Grain-free,” “natural,” and “limited ingredient” are not substitutes for checking the label or for veterinary guidance.
Rank #4
- Fish is #1 Ingredient - Since the dawn of time, cats have loved their protein—so that’s why this dish is packed with delicious, crunchy bites of the good stuff: sustainably-sourced salmon and trout.
- Protein-Rich - Packed with 34% protein! This bag of kibble boosts your pet’s energy and helps them maintain lean muscle mass.
- Pre & Probiotics for Easy Digestion - Nature’s mighty little biotics work hard to ensure your pet’s gut is in tiptop shape.
- Holistic Nutrition - Added with care and approved by our in-house holistic vet, Dr. Angie. These handpicked, balanced ingredients nourish the body from head to paw.
- Filler Free - We don’t use fillers to bulk out your pet’s food to help us save a buck or two. There’s no nutritional value and it can contribute to obesity and lethargy. #Nope
Where is I and Love and You cat food made?
Cats.com reports that most of the brand’s cat food is manufactured in the United States, while XOXO wet cat food and Feed Meow pouches are among the products made in Thailand. The review says ingredients are sourced from several countries: most from the United States and Canada, with some from Australia, Argentina, Thailand, and New Zealand. Manufacturing location and ingredient origin are different facts, and these are the review’s reported supply-chain details—not an independently audited or guaranteed current account.
Has I and Love and You cat food been recalled?
Cats.com and CatFoodAdvisor report no recorded recalls of I and Love and You cat food in their review histories. Both mention a 2015 recall involving the brand’s Cow-Boom! beef gullet dog treats; CatFoodAdvisor dates it to July 10, 2015. That was a dog-treat recall, not a cat-food recall. The historical review findings do not establish current recall status or guarantee product safety.
Recommended Free Tools
Best Value
- Stew - A chunky and tender meal with rich gravy.
- Single Protein, Real Poultry, or Fish is #1 Ingredient - Since the dawn of time, cats have loved their protein—so that’s why this dish is packed with delicious, succulent chunks of the good stuff.
- Hydration Boost - Your cat gets to enjoy flavorful, nourishing broth to ensure they’re getting enough H20 (without even knowing it!) every day.
- Grain-Free - Absolutely no corn, wheat, rice, soy, or oats in sight. We don’t pack your pet’s food with grains just to help us save a buck or two.
- Filler-Free - Unlike other brands, we don’t use ingredients like rice or corn to bulk out your pet’s food because we know there’s little nutritional value and it can contribute to obesity and lethargy.
What else should you know about the brand?
The manufacturer says its wet cans are “BPA non-intent (BPA-NI),” explaining that BPA and certain other bisphenols are not intentionally used, while acknowledging that trace amounts could be detected because these substances are prevalent in the environment. This is a brand statement, not a report of independent testing. Cats.com also reports that Only Natural Pet launched I and Love and You in 2011; the review’s publication date was not visible in the retrieved page text.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




