For cats in the United States, Revolution (selamectin) is a prescription topical medicine given using the tube matched to the cat’s current weight. The FDA-approved label recommends it for cats at least 8 weeks old and says not to use it in sick, debilitated, or underweight animals. Follow your veterinarian’s directions and the current package insert; do not estimate a dose from a dog product or split a tube by guesswork.
How much Revolution do I give my cat?
The US label sets a minimum selamectin dose of 2.7 mg per pound (6 mg/kg). Select the labeled cat tube by weight and apply the full contents of that single-dose tube as directed. For a cat over 22 pounds, the label calls for an appropriate combination of tubes; ask your veterinarian which combination to use.
| Cat’s weight | FDA-labeled tube color | Selamectin per tube | Tube volume |
|---|---|---|---|
| Up to 5 lb | Mauve | 15 mg | 0.25 mL |
| 5.1–15 lb | Blue | 45 mg | 0.75 mL |
| 15.1–22 lb | Taupe | 60 mg | 1.0 mL |
| Over 22 lb | Appropriate combination of tubes | As directed by the combination | Follow the label and veterinarian’s directions |
These are weight bands, not a formula for measuring a custom amount. If your cat is between listed weights, has gained or lost weight, or you are unsure which tube you have, contact your veterinarian before applying it. Use the cat-labeled product, not a dog package.
How to apply it
Revolution is applied topically, not given by mouth. Ask your veterinarian or veterinary technician to demonstrate or explain the first application, and follow the instructions on your own package insert. The product is for animal use only; follow the label’s precautions to avoid human exposure.
#1 Best Overall
- 7-in-One Protection: Revolution Plus is a monthly topical that protects your cat against fleas, ticks, ear mites, roundworms, hookworms, and heartworm disease. Prevents tapeworms by killing fleas. Approved for cats and kittens eight weeks and older, weighing 2.8 lbs or more. It’s available with a prescription from your veterinarian.
- Vets #1 Choice for Cats¹: Revolution Plus is the most prescribed medicine for feline parasite protection with over 25 years of proven protection*.
- Protection Indoor & Outdoor Cats Need: Parasites are not “outdoor-only.” Any cat or kitten can regularly come in contact with harmful pests. Regardless of your cat’s lifestyle (indoor only, indoor/outdoor, outdoor only), Revolution Plus protects your cat from parasites that follow you home.
- Once a Month Treatment: One application a month protects your cat from the most common parasites.
- Easy-to-Apply: Applying Revolution Plus doesn’t require gloves. It's quick-drying, small-volume and applied topically on the back of your cat’s neck.
What does Revolution treat or prevent, and how often is it used?
The FDA-approved US cat label includes flea control, heartworm disease prevention, ear mite treatment and control, and treatment and control of feline roundworm (Toxocara cati) and intestinal hookworm (Ancylostoma tubaeforme) infections. It says Revolution kills adult fleas and prevents flea eggs from hatching for one month.
The schedule depends on the parasite indication: heartworm prevention is monthly, while the label specifies one topical dose for feline nematode treatment and control. Follow your veterinarian’s directions for the condition being treated rather than assuming one schedule applies to every use.
Rank #2
- 7-in-One Protection: Revolution Plus is a monthly topical that protects your cat against fleas, ticks, ear mites, roundworms, hookworms, and heartworm disease. Prevents tapeworms by killing fleas. Approved for cats and kittens eight weeks and older, weighing 2.8 lbs or more. It’s available with a prescription from your veterinarian.
- Vets #1 Choice for Cats¹: Revolution Plus is the most prescribed medicine for feline parasite protection with over 25 years of proven protection*.
- Protection Indoor & Outdoor Cats Need: Parasites are not “outdoor-only.” Any cat or kitten can regularly come in contact with harmful pests. Regardless of your cat’s lifestyle (indoor only, indoor/outdoor, outdoor only), Revolution Plus protects your cat from parasites that follow you home.
- Once a Month Treatment: One application a month protects your cat from the most common parasites.
- Easy-to-Apply: Applying Revolution Plus doesn’t require gloves. It's quick-drying, small-volume and applied topically on the back of your cat’s neck.
Can I bathe my cat after Revolution?
The US label says bathing or shampooing a cat two hours after treatment will not reduce the product’s effectiveness against fleas. That statement is specifically about flea effectiveness; it should not be taken as a claim about every parasite indication or every topical flea product.
Can I use Revolution on a kitten?
The labeled minimum age for cats is 8 weeks. The label also says, “Do not use in sick, debilitated or underweight animals.” Have your veterinarian assess a kitten’s age, weight, and condition if any of those are uncertain. Tell the veterinarian if your cat is pregnant or nursing, is ill or underweight, takes other medications, or has had a prior reaction to a parasite medicine.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Rank #3
- Advantage II Large Cat is a leading brand in cat flea treatment and prevention for large cats over 9 lbs., at least 8 weeks of age
- Vet-recommended, easy-to-apply monthly topical treatment – no hard-to-swallow pills, no prescription needed
- Delivers total flea protection – kills adult fleas, flea larvae and flea eggs through contact
- Same-day effectiveness – kills fleas within 12 hours of application and keeps working for 30 days
- Fragrance-free formula, waterproof after 24 hours of application
The label reports one death in a separately described kitten estimated to be 5–6 weeks old and weighing 0.3 kg, 8½ hours after a recommended dose; the kitten was described as malnourished and underweight and was younger than the labeled minimum age. This report does not establish the risk for cats that meet the labeled age and health criteria.
What are Revolution side effects in cats?
In pre-approval clinical trials described in the FDA-approved Zoetis label, transient localized hair loss (alopecia), with or without inflammation at or near the application site, was observed in approximately 1% of 691 treated cats. The label does not state the year of those trials.
Rank #4
- 7-in-One Protection: Revolution Plus is a monthly topical that protects your cat against fleas, ticks, ear mites, roundworms, hookworms, and heartworm disease. Prevents tapeworms by killing fleas. Approved for cats and kittens eight weeks and older, weighing 2.8 lbs or more. It’s available with a prescription from your veterinarian.
- Vets #1 Choice for Cats¹: Revolution Plus is the most prescribed medicine for feline parasite protection with over 25 years of proven protection*.
- Protection Indoor & Outdoor Cats Need: Parasites are not “outdoor-only.” Any cat or kitten can regularly come in contact with harmful pests. Regardless of your cat’s lifestyle (indoor only, indoor/outdoor, outdoor only), Revolution Plus protects your cat from parasites that follow you home.
- Once a Month Treatment: One application a month protects your cat from the most common parasites.
- Easy-to-Apply: Applying Revolution Plus doesn’t require gloves. It's quick-drying, small-volume and applied topically on the back of your cat’s neck.
Other signs were reported at or below 0.5% of 1,743 treated cats and dogs in the label’s clinical-trial safety data; this is a combined cat-and-dog figure, not a cat-only rate. Listed signs included vomiting, loose stool or diarrhea (sometimes with blood), reduced appetite, lethargy, salivation, rapid breathing, and muscle tremors. The label does not state the year of those trials.
Post-approval reports listed itching, hives, redness, incoordination, fever, and rare reports of death. Spontaneous reports do not establish how often an event occurs or prove that Revolution caused a particular event in an individual cat.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Best Value
- Advantage II Large Cat is a leading brand in cat flea treatment and prevention for large cats over 9 lbs., at least 8 weeks of age
- Vet-recommended, easy-to-apply monthly topical treatment – no hard-to-swallow pills, no prescription needed
- Delivers total flea protection – kills adult fleas, flea larvae and flea eggs through contact
- Same-day effectiveness – kills fleas within 12 hours of application and keeps working for 30 days
- Fragrance-free formula, waterproof after 24 hours of application
What if my cat licks Revolution?
In cat safety testing, oral administration of the recommended topical dose caused salivation and intermittent vomiting. If your cat licks the application site, you notice a dosing error, or you are concerned about a reaction, contact your veterinarian or an animal poison service promptly. Keep the package available so you can provide the exact product and strength. Do not try a home treatment unless a veterinary professional tells you to.
When should I contact a veterinarian?
- Before applying Revolution if your cat is sick, debilitated, underweight, younger than 8 weeks, or in uncertain body condition.
- If you are unsure about the correct weight band, tube strength, application, or schedule for the condition being treated.
- Promptly after licking or suspected ingestion, a dosing mistake, or any concerning sign following treatment.
- Before treatment if your cat is pregnant or nursing, takes other medications, or has had a previous reaction to a parasite product.
Is Revolution prescription-only?
In the United States, the FDA-approved label states: “US Federal law restricts this drug to use by or on the order of a licensed veterinarian.” Zoetis’s US Revolution cat product page describes the product for cats; the FDA provides general information about pet medications. Approved uses, product presentations, and access rules can differ outside the United States, so use the label for your country and your veterinarian’s instructions.
How is Revolution different from Revolution Plus?
FDA information describes Revolution Plus as containing selamectin plus sarolaner and its 2023 labeling-change summary lists additional tick indications. Those facts alone are not a complete comparison of current labels, safety warnings, age or weight limits, or suitability for an individual cat. Check each current product label with your veterinarian rather than assuming one product is universally better.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




