If you want to help save dogs and cats as a profession, animal services offers routes ranging from introductory learning and focused lifesaving courses to leadership study, degrees, and hands-on experience. Best Friends Animal Society offers learning pathways in partnership with Southern Utah University (SUU); the right fit depends on the work you want to do, not simply how much you love animals.
What does a career in animal services involve?
Animal services includes direct care for animals, but it also depends on the people and systems that help animals find safe outcomes. Depending on the role, the work may involve shelter operations, adoption or foster programs, public engagement, partnerships, community data, funding advocacy, organizational finance, or staff well-being.
That range matters when choosing training. If you want to work directly with dogs or cats, look for learning focused on their care and lifesaving. If you are drawn to community programs or shelter leadership, operations, communication, data, and organizational skills may be just as relevant.
Which learning route fits your goals?
Best Friends’ learning page outlines options for people new to animal services as well as current professionals. The table summarizes the routes described by Best Friends and SUU; offerings and terms can change.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
#1 Best Overall
| Route | Focus | Credential or format stated |
|---|---|---|
| Introduction to Animal Services | Animal-welfare history in the United States, the role of shelters, contemporary programming, and community data. | One continuing education unit, or a fast-track option offering three credits that may count toward specified SUU programs. Best Friends learning page and course page |
| Finding Success in Animal Services | Career pathways, lifesaving programs, public engagement, shelter operations, partnerships, data, finance, funding advocacy, collaboration, well-being, and supporting change. | Seven-week online course; successful participants earn one SUU credit and a digital badge. Best Friends course page |
| Dog Lifesaving Fundamentals | Adoption, dog behavior and well-being, foster programs, canine handling, and shelter medicine. | Course listed by Best Friends; a specific credential and duration are not stated on the learning page. Best Friends learning page |
| Cat Lifesaving Fundamentals | Strategies and actions for saving kittens and cats. | Course listed by Best Friends; a specific credential and duration are not stated on the learning page. Best Friends learning page |
| Sanctuary and leadership training | Sanctuary operations and professional leadership. | Training and leadership certifications are listed by Best Friends; specific requirements and duration are not stated on the learning page. Best Friends learning page |
| Degree study | Further study for people pursuing a broader academic route in animal services. | Best Friends lists an online bachelor’s program and a 30-credit online master’s program. Confirm current program details with the provider. Best Friends learning page |
How should you choose a course or program?
Start with the work you hope to do, then compare what each option actually provides. The provider pages do not give a complete side-by-side account of cost, admission requirements, job outcomes, or comparative value, so confirm those details before enrolling.
- Target role: Decide whether you are exploring the field, building animal-care skills, preparing for leadership, or pursuing a degree.
- Subject matter: Check whether the curriculum emphasizes direct care, shelter operations, community programming, or organizational skills.
- Practical experience: Ask whether hands-on work or a placement is included, and whether you must arrange it yourself.
- Outcome: Confirm whether completion earns a certificate, continuing education unit, credit, digital badge, or degree—and whether any credit applies to a program you plan to pursue.
- Time and eligibility: Check the current schedule, duration, weekly workload, prerequisites, and any placement requirements.
- Cost and availability: Ask the provider for current fees, enrollment dates, and whether the course is currently offered.
Can you explore the work through hands-on experience?
Yes. Best Friends describes volunteering as a way to gain practical experience and make connections. Its professional page also lists internships and veterinary externships for veterinary students and veterinary technicians. These options can help you learn what the work involves before committing to a particular course or career direction. Check the provider’s current openings and eligibility requirements.
Rank #2
For veterinary-specific training, the Nova Scotia SPCA provides a regional example—not a universal requirement or direct equivalent to the Best Friends courses. Its page describes a veterinary assistant program with a 160-hour internship and a veterinary technician program with clinical rotations and a 240-hour clinical internship. Confirm current requirements, dates, and eligibility directly with the Nova Scotia SPCA.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.What to verify before enrolling
Program availability and terms may vary. The Best Friends and SUU pages describe the learning options and certain course outcomes, but they do not establish every detail a prospective student may need.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Quick Recap
Best Value
Rank #4
Rank #3
- Current enrollment dates, tuition, and admission criteria.
- Whether the listed credential or credit is available for the current course offering.
- Which SUU programs accept the fast-track credits and what transfer or application rules apply.
- Whether the program includes practical placement and how placements are arranged.
- What the provider can substantiate about career outcomes; the course descriptions alone do not establish job placement, earnings, or comparative program quality.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




