Whole Paws is Whole Foods Market’s cat-food brand, and whether it suits your cat depends on which recipe you buy. The product listings support a clear reading of each recipe’s format, opening ingredients and stated life-stage claims. They do not show how any cat responds to the food, so this is a label-and-listing review, not a feeding trial. Nothing here reflects personal testing of the food.
What Whole Paws includes and how to read this review
The Whole Paws line is sold through Whole Foods Market and includes both wet and dry recipes. Each recipe carries its own ingredient list and its own label statements, so a review of the brand as a whole would blur real differences. The sections below go recipe by recipe, using what Whole Foods Market’s product listings state at the time of writing. Listings change, so the bag or can in your hand is the final authority on any claim.
The recipes at a glance
The four recipes covered here differ in format, package size and the wording used for life stage and nutritional adequacy.
| Recipe | Format and size | Opening ingredients on the listing | Life-stage and adequacy wording on the listing |
|---|---|---|---|
| Chicken pâté | Wet, 5.5 oz | Chicken, chicken liver, chicken broth, carrots, peas | Grain-free, for adult cats; listing says “complete and balanced nutrition” |
| Organic Chicken | Dry, 3.5 lb | Chicken (promoted as the first ingredient) | Formulated to meet AAFCO Cat Food Nutrient Profiles for adult maintenance |
| Salmon & Whitefish Dinner in broth | Wet, 3 oz | Salmon, salmon broth, water, chicken liver, dried egg white, whitefish | Listing says “complete and balanced” |
| Chicken & Pea | Dry, 3.5 lb | Not stated in the listing text reviewed | Grain-free, adult maintenance; listing describes fiber and prebiotics |
Recipe notes
Whole Paws Chicken pâté (wet, 5.5 oz)
Chicken is the first ingredient, followed by chicken liver, chicken broth, carrots and peas. The rest of the list includes fish oil, vitamins and minerals, taurine, carrageenan and DL-methionine. Carrageenan is a thickening agent that appears in many canned pet foods; the listing alone does not indicate how it affects a particular cat. The listing describes the food as complete and balanced and names adult cats as the intended group. The listing text reviewed does not show a full nutritional adequacy statement, so confirm the exact wording on the can before relying on it for a kitten, senior cat or a cat with a medical diagnosis.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems2Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches3Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors#1 Best Overall
- #1 Ingredient Is Real Salmon
- As A Cat Owner, You Know Just How Important It Is To Feed Your Furry Feline The Best Of The Best.
- This Grain-Free Recipe Makes Your Job Of Finding That Perfect Cat Food A Whole Lot Easier. With Salmon As The Number One Ingredient, A Blend Of Flaxseed, Pumpkin, Apples And Carrots For Added Nutrients, And Pre- And Probiotics For Digestion, Bellies Are Bound To Be Purring - And You'Re Bound To Be Their Favorite Family Member.
- By Whole Foods Market
- An Amazon brand
Whole Paws Organic Chicken (dry, 3.5 lb)
The listing states the recipe is formulated to meet AAFCO Cat Food Nutrient Profiles for adult maintenance. That is a product-page claim, and it applies to this formula only; it does not mean every Whole Paws product carries the same life-stage statement. The listing also promotes chicken as the first ingredient and describes added prebiotics and fiber. Check the bag for its complete adequacy statement and guaranteed analysis, since those figures are what let you compare this bag with another food.
Whole Paws Salmon & Whitefish Dinner in broth (wet, 3 oz)
This is the only recipe in the group where fish leads the ingredient list, with salmon listed first and whitefish appearing later. The broth-based format and the smaller 3 oz size make it a different purchase from the 5.5 oz pâté. The retailer describes it as complete and balanced. Product information can change, so confirm the current packaging before assuming the listed ingredients or claims still apply.
Rank #2
- The information below is per-pack only
- Premium pate made with real chicken as #1 ingredient
- Grain-free recipe in 5.5 oz can
- Made in Canada with quality ingredients
- Features non-BPA can lining
Whole Paws Chicken & Pea (dry, 3.5 lb)
This is a separate dry formula from the Organic Chicken bag, not a variant of it. The listing describes a grain-free recipe for adult maintenance, with fiber and prebiotics. The opening ingredients are not stated in the listing text reviewed, so read the ingredient panel on the bag rather than inferring its composition from the Organic Chicken recipe.
How to read the label claims
Life-stage and adequacy statements
A “complete and balanced” phrase or an AAFCO reference tells you what the manufacturer says the food is designed to do. The statement that matters is the one on the package, because it names the life stage the food was formulated for, such as adult maintenance, growth or all life stages. A retailer listing that says “adult cats” is useful for shopping but is not a substitute for the package wording.
Rank #3
Grain-free
Grain-free describes the absence of grain ingredients in the recipe. It is a formulation fact, not a health outcome. The listings do not provide evidence that grain-free feeding benefits any particular cat, and a veterinarian can advise whether dietary changes make sense for a specific animal.
Ingredient order
Ingredients are listed by weight before cooking, so the first items show what makes up the largest share of the formula. That helps you understand a recipe’s main protein source. It does not, on its own, tell you about nutrient quality, digestibility or how complete the diet is. Those questions depend on the guaranteed analysis and the adequacy statement.
Rank #4
- Premium pate made with real chicken as #1 ingredient
- Grain-free recipe in 5.5 oz can
- Made in Canada with quality ingredients
- Features non-BPA can lining
- Created by Whole Foods Market with trusted ingredients
What this review does not establish
- Calories per can or cup, and feeding amounts for a given weight. These must be read from the current package.
- The full guaranteed analysis for each recipe. Only the Organic Chicken listing refers to its analysis, and it directs readers to the bag.
- Current prices, price per calorie, or stock levels, which change by location and date.
- Whether a particular cat will accept, digest or thrive on any recipe.
- A complete, side-by-side nutrition comparison across the entire Whole Paws line.
Checklist before you buy
- Match the exact recipe name, format and size to the package in front of you.
- Find the nutritional adequacy statement and confirm it names the life stage your cat is in.
- Read the guaranteed analysis for protein, fat, fiber and moisture, and note the calories per can or cup.
- Calculate the daily feeding amount from the package guide and your cat’s current weight, then compare cost per calorie rather than cost per can.
- Switch foods gradually over about a week to ten days, mixing a growing share of the new food into the old.
- Track appetite, stool quality, vomiting and coat condition during the transition, and contact your veterinarian if any of these change noticeably.
When to check with a veterinarian first
- Kittens, pregnant or nursing cats, and senior cats, because life-stage requirements differ.
- Cats with a diagnosed condition such as kidney disease, urinary problems, diabetes or food allergies.
- Cats that have previously refused or reacted badly to a food with a similar main protein.
Independent coverage
An independent review of Whole Paws cat food on Cats.com was last updated January 6, 2026. It is worth reading alongside the label checks above. The assessments in this article are based on retailer listings and label claims, not on that review’s conclusions.
The Bottom Line
Whole Paws is not one product, so the useful question is which recipe fits your cat. The Chicken pâté and Salmon & Whitefish wet recipes suit a different feeding routine than the 3.5 lb dry bags, and the Organic Chicken bag is the only listing here that states an AAFCO adult maintenance claim. Before buying any of them, confirm the adequacy statement, guaranteed analysis and calories on the package, and check with your veterinarian if your cat is a kitten, senior, pregnant or has a medical condition.
Recommended Free Tools
Quick Recap
Best Value
- Brought to you by Whole Foods Market. Whole Paws Chicken Recipe is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Cat Food Nutrient Profiles for Maintenance.
- #1 Ingredient is Chicken. Chicken Raised without Antibiotics or Growth Hormones.
- Made with Real Fruits & Veggies. Enhanced with Fiber and Prebiotics to help support digestion.
- No Animal By-Products. No Corn, Soy, Potato or Wheat.
- GAP Animal Welfar Certified Enriched Enviroment. USDA Certified Biobased Product.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




