There is no single reliable price for raising a puppy. For planning, the ASPCA’s 2021 dog estimate totals $3,221 in the first year, while the American Kennel Club (AKC) publishes separate ranges for acquisition, setup, food, veterinary care, grooming, prevention and services. In Ontario, the Ontario Veterinary Medical Association (OVMA) put the 2025 provincial-average annual cost at CAD $5,493 for a male puppy and CAD $5,595 for a female puppy.
These figures are benchmarks, not quotes. They cover different categories, currencies, locations and years. Your realistic budget depends on whether you adopt or buy, your puppy’s adult size and coat, local veterinary prices, and how much training, grooming, boarding or daycare you use.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
What does the published evidence actually show?
Before comparing totals, check what each estimate includes. The ASPCA figure is a 2021 update for a dog’s first year. Its total combines initial costs, annual costs and listed special costs; the acquisition price is not included in the $1,030 initial-cost subtotal. The AKC presents estimated averages and ranges rather than one all-in total. Its retrieved page does not display a publication date, so treat its figures as planning ranges and confirm local prices. OVMA’s number is a 2025 Ontario provincial average in Canadian dollars.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →| Source and scope | Published figure | What it means |
|---|---|---|
| ASPCA, 2021 update | $3,221 first-year dog total | Includes $1,030 initial costs, $1,391 annual costs and $800 in listed special costs; acquisition is excluded from the initial subtotal. |
| AKC, page accessed 2026 | $500–$5,000 purebred purchase; $50–$300 shelter adoption | Estimated one-time acquisition ranges, not quotes for a particular breeder or shelter. |
| OVMA, 2025 Ontario provincial average | CAD $5,493 male puppy; CAD $5,595 female puppy | A Canadian provincial estimate with its own assumptions and categories; it is not a U.S. national figure. |
Do not average these numbers together. They are not harmonized: geography, currency, estimate year and included services differ. A useful household budget starts with one benchmark, then replaces its assumptions with quotes from providers near you.
#1 Best Overall
- IDEAL FOR 21-40 LB DOGS: Measures 30.5 x 19.25 x 21.5 inches - perfect for French Bulldogs, Welsh Terriers, Dachshunds & similar breeds. For dogs near 40 lbs, consider sizing up to our 36-inch model so they have plenty of room to get comfortable.
- WE DON'T CUT CORNERS, WE PERFECT THEM: Precision welding, rounded corner clips & slide-bolt latch with Paw Block mitigate snags, cuts & escapes. With rigorous safety testing, iCrate provides peace of mind knowing your dog is safe while you're away.
- DURABLE CONSTRUCTION: Sturdy metal wire design with a protective black e-coat finish, the iCrate resists rust and everyday wear. Complete with leak-proof tray, rubber feet, carry handle, and tool-free assembly, it's ready for years of use.
- SUPPORTS CRATE TRAINING: A divider panel lets the crate grow with your dog, from puppy kennel to full-size crate. Large openings and low thresholds ease the crate training process and help your dog feel more at home.
- LIFE GOES BETTER WITH PETS: A family-owned business based in Indiana, MidWest Homes for Pets brings over 100 years of pet product expertise and a commitment to quality, rigorous safety testing, and excellent US-based customer service.
How much does a puppy cost in the first year?
The first year combines the acquisition decision, medical setup and equipment with ongoing food and preventive care. The categories below show where the money goes.
Acquisition: adoption or purchase
AKC estimates a shelter adoption fee of $50–$300. Its estimated range for purchasing a purebred puppy is $500–$5,000. Those are acquisition amounts only. They do not cover food, veterinary visits, supplies, training or future care, and a lower initial fee does not guarantee lower lifetime costs.
Medical setup
AKC’s example one-time ranges include $65–$70 for a new-puppy examination, $75–$100 for core vaccines and $25–$50 for microchipping. Spay or neuter is also listed as a setup category, but the retrieved AKC summary does not give a range for it.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
ASPCA’s 2021 initial-cost table assigns $300 to spay/neuter, $300 to initial medical costs and $20 to microchipping. Those are the ASPCA table’s estimates, not a price promise from a particular clinic.
Equipment and supplies
AKC estimates $60–$250 for a crate and $150–$350 for supplies. Its supply categories include a leash and collar or identification, bowls, brush, toothpaste, shampoo and a bed. ASPCA’s checklist also includes food and treats, safe chew toys, a training crate, a collar with license and identification tag, a leash, a bed, a brush and comb, and a dog toothbrush.
Rank #2
- IDEAL FOR 12-20 LB DOGS: Measures 24.5 x 17.5 x 19.5 inches - perfect for Fox Terriers, Pugs, Chihuahuas & similar breeds. For dogs near 20 lbs, consider sizing up to our 30-inch model so they have plenty of room to get comfortable.
- WE DON'T CUT CORNERS, WE PERFECT THEM: Precision welding, rounded corner clips & slide-bolt latch with Paw Block mitigate snags, cuts & escapes. With rigorous safety testing, iCrate provides peace of mind knowing your dog is safe while you're away.
- DURABLE CONSTRUCTION: Sturdy metal wire design with a protective black e-coat finish, the iCrate resists rust and everyday wear. Complete with leak-proof tray, rubber feet, carry handle, and tool-free assembly, it's ready for years of use.
- SUPPORTS CRATE TRAINING: A divider panel lets the crate grow with your dog, from puppy kennel to full-size crate. Large openings and low thresholds ease the crate training process and help your dog feel more at home.
- LIFE GOES BETTER WITH PETS: A family-owned business based in Indiana, MidWest Homes for Pets brings over 100 years of pet product expertise and a commitment to quality, rigorous safety testing, and excellent US-based customer service.
ASPCA’s 2021 initial table lists $60 for collar, leash and harnesses, $60 for a crate, $200 for training assets and $40 for grooming tools. The table’s initial subtotal is $1,030 after adding its other listed categories.
Puppy classes and early training
AKC estimates $150–$250 for puppy kindergarten. ASPCA’s initial table includes $200 for training assets. Training can be a one-time class, a series of lessons or an ongoing service, so ask the provider whether the quoted price covers group sessions, private work, materials and follow-up support.
What are the recurring yearly costs?
After setup, food, routine health care and prevention continue every year. The following figures are published estimates, not a universal annual bill.
| Category | AKC estimated annual range | ASPCA 2021 annual estimate |
|---|---|---|
| Food | $275–$800 | $300 |
| Veterinary care | $150–$400 | $225 routine medical care |
| Flea and tick prevention | $150–$310 | $185 preventive medication |
| Heartworm prevention and annual test | $130–$180 | Included within the ASPCA preventive-medication category |
| Treats and toys | $120–$480 | $37 toys and $60 treats |
| Grooming | $50–$500 | $28 grooming supplies |
| Pet insurance | Not stated in the AKC range summary | $516 |
| Licensing | Not stated in the AKC range summary | $15 |
AKC cautions that its annual estimates vary by location, age, breed and supplier. ASPCA’s figures are explicitly from its 2021 update. For example, the ASPCA table’s $516 insurance estimate is part of its $1,391 annual total; it is not a recommendation that every household buy a policy.
Boarding, sitting, walking and daycare
These services can turn an otherwise modest recurring budget into a much larger one. AKC lists estimated prices of $25–$75 per boarding day, $45–$75 per pet-sitter night and $12–$40 per day for dog walking or daycare. Multiply the appropriate rate by your actual travel, work and care schedule rather than assuming the service is occasional.
Rank #3
- Safe and Durable: The kennel is designed with rounded corners to eliminate sharp edges, prevent injuries caused by collisions and scratches, and reduce sharp points to protect the floor, ensure a safe use for you and your pet. And the durable metal wire construction with protective, long-lasting black coat finish, is good for pet trainning, resting and playing
- Easy to Clean: The crate bottom comes with a plastic removable tray that features a deep lip design to prevent overflow, that will not stain, warp, corrode or retain pet odors, you can cover the pad or wipe off pet's feces, and just slide it out when you need to clean. Meanwhile, the whole cage can also be cleaned by wiping to saving you time
- Single-Door Design: The single-door access offers a spacious entry point for proper ventilation and easy interaction with you. Featuring a large door opening and low threshold, it allows your pet to easily enter and exit the crate. The door is equipped with a heavy-duty sliding bolt latch to securely lock it in place, ensuring your pet's safety
- Foldable & Portable: The crate with collapsible design that conveniently folds into a flat less than 3" thick, can be assembled quickly, also with the rust-resistant finish makes it be an ideal choice for home and travel, it's easy to store and transport, comes with the attachable carrying handle strong and reliable
- Pets Divider: The cage includes a divider, it's easily secure and disassemble, also it's easy to adjust the size of the internal living area where your pet grows. If you have 2 pets, you can assign the activity area by their size
ASPCA’s 2021 annual table uses $25 per boarding day as its estimate. That is a per-day assumption, not a complete annual boarding allowance.
Why do puppy budgets differ so much?
Adult size and growth rate
AKC says larger dogs generally eat more, can cost more to board and may be more expensive to groom. Food quantities, crate dimensions, medication doses and some equipment therefore change as a puppy grows. Ask for an adult-weight estimate before setting a long-term food and service budget.
Coat and grooming needs
A short-coated dog may need basic brushing and occasional bathing at home. A coat that mats or requires regular clipping can create recurring professional-grooming costs. AKC’s broad grooming range of $50–$500 reflects how different those routines can be; it is not a breed-by-breed price list.
Geography and provider
Veterinary, boarding and grooming prices are often higher in high-rent areas and vary with provider experience and service level, according to AKC. A clinic’s exam fee may also exclude vaccines, laboratory work, medication or follow-up visits. Request an itemized puppy-care schedule from local providers so you can see what is included.
Care choices
Group classes, private training, daycare, professional grooming, boarding and insurance are decisions rather than automatic puppy expenses. A household that works from home and grooms at home will budget differently from one that needs daily daycare and frequent boarding.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Rank #4
- 【Safe quality material】The pet playpen is made of high-grade thick mesh and 600D waterproof polyester oxford with reinforced seams. Consists of 8 mesh side panels and a half mesh top, well ventilated. You can have a 360-degree view of your pet's condition, and you can also give your pet a panoramic view of its surroundings.
- 【Easy to use】The pet playpen on the side of this pet pen can be easily rolled up and pasted, making it easy for your pet to get in and out of the pet pen. Close the door and keep your pet safely inside. The detachable semi-mesh zipper top can be easily removed for indoor use and closed for outdoor use to provide shade. Make sure your pet is comfortable in any environment.
- 【No Assembly required】Opening the dog pen takes only a few seconds, is lightweight, strong, and does not require assembly. When not in use, it can be folded into the tote bag provided by us, which takes up minimal space and is easy to carry and store. Spacious interior Spaces allow your pet to play, sleep, hide or isolate. Perfect for indoors, lawns, beaches, parks, Tours, camping and more!
- 【Wide applicability】 This pet crate is suitable for cats, dogs, rabbits, ferrets, hamsters, chickens, pregnant pets, and pets in recovery. It also provides a safe and secure temporary isolation area, comprehensively meeting your pet's needs throughout different life stages.
- 【The dog pen tent is easy to clean】 simply wipe off any dirt or wash it with water, then let it air dry and continue to use. You can also put a blanket under the fence and wash it if it gets dirty.
What unexpected expenses should you plan for?
Routine estimates cannot predict illness or injury. AKC identifies emergency veterinary visits, broken bones, imaging, dental cleaning and other treatment as possible medical expenses. ASPCA also lists dental care and professional grooming among its special costs: $500 for dental care and $300 for professional grooming in its 2021 table, for $800 in listed special costs.
Those amounts do not mean every puppy will need those procedures. They show why a budget based only on food and vaccines is incomplete. Choose an emergency strategy before you need it:
- Keep a cash reserve sized to your household’s ability to absorb an unexpected veterinary bill.
- Compare insurance policies by deductible, reimbursement percentage, annual limit, exclusions, waiting periods and whether hereditary or congenital conditions are covered.
- Ask your veterinarian which preventive visits, tests and dental care are appropriate for your puppy’s breed and risk factors.
Insurance can reduce the financial impact of covered treatment, but premiums and policy terms determine whether it fits your risk tolerance. Neither insurance nor a reserve guarantees a lower total cost.
How to build a realistic puppy budget before bringing one home
- Decide which first-year question you are answering. Separate the acquisition and setup bill from recurring annual care. If you are planning a move or a new job, add a separate line for boarding, sitting, walking or daycare.
- Get local medical prices. Ask a veterinary clinic for an examination, vaccine series, parasite prevention, microchip and spay/neuter estimate. Confirm whether taxes, laboratory work and follow-up visits are included.
- Price the puppy’s actual food. Use the expected adult size and the food’s feeding directions. Large-breed puppies may need a food formulated for large-breed growth; ASPCA specifically recommends high-quality puppy food and this large-breed formulation when appropriate.
- List equipment once, then separate consumables. A crate, bed, bowls, leash and grooming tools are setup purchases. Food, treats, parasite medication and replacement toys recur.
- Choose a training plan. Price puppy kindergarten or private lessons, and record how many sessions are included. AKC’s $150–$250 puppy-kindergarten estimate is a starting range, not a local quote.
- Ask service providers for written rates. Get boarding, daycare, walking and grooming prices, including weekend, holiday, pickup and cancellation fees.
- Add a contingency line. Keep emergency care and optional insurance separate from the routine total so you can see both your expected budget and your risk plan.
Finally, compare your completed worksheet with a published benchmark only after matching its date, geography, currency and included categories. A local quote is more useful than a national range when the decision is whether your household can afford the puppy.
What should you buy before the puppy arrives?
Use a short startup list rather than treating every pet product as essential:
- Crate sized for the puppy’s expected growth, with safe bedding
- Food and water bowls
- High-quality puppy food appropriate to size and veterinary advice
- Collar, identification tag, license where required, and leash
- Safe chew toys and a small supply of treats
- Brush, comb, shampoo and dog toothbrush
- Cleaning supplies and a plan for secure confinement
Searches such as puppy crate, puppy food, puppy leash and collar, dog food and water bowls, safe puppy chew toys and puppy bed describe the categories identified by AKC and ASPCA. They do not establish that one brand or premium price is necessary. Compare safety, fit, ingredients and return policies rather than buying the most expensive option.
Questions to ask before committing
- Does the first-year estimate include the acquisition or adoption fee?
- Are vaccines, parasite tests, microchipping and spay/neuter included, and at what ages?
- What adult size and coat-care routine should I expect?
- How many days of boarding, daycare or walking will my schedule require?
- Will I groom at home, or should I budget recurring professional appointments?
- Can I fund an emergency bill, and would an insurance policy’s exclusions leave a gap?
- Which local license, rental or travel fees apply?
The practical answer
Use $3,221 as a dated ASPCA 2021 planning benchmark, not as a universal U.S. puppy price. Use AKC’s ranges to build each line of your own budget, and treat OVMA’s CAD $5,493–$5,595 2025 figures as Ontario-specific provincial averages. The purchase or adoption fee is only the beginning: food, routine veterinary care, parasite prevention and supplies continue, while size, coat, location and service choices can change the total substantially.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.
Recommended Free Tools





Leave a Reply