Hardware FixRecommendedDevice not working? Your driver may be the problemCheck updates for common hardware issues.Fix DriversOctober DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsWindows FixRecommendedWindows errors stealing your time? Find the fix fastScan stability, cleanup and performance issues.Fix Now×
Skip to content
Entry 538Filed under Breeding

Molnupiravir for Cats: Evidence, Research Dosing Protocols & Side Effects

Published molnupiravir studies in cats with FIP are promising but small. Here is what they found, the doses researchers used, the side effects reported, and why a veterinarian must decide any treatment.
6-minute read By Animalso Team
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Molnupiravir is an oral antiviral that veterinary researchers have tested in cats with feline infectious peritonitis (FIP). The published results are encouraging, but they come from small studies, most of them nonrandomized, and access to the drug varies by country. This article reviews that published evidence: what the studies found, which doses were used in research, which side effects have been reported, and what to ask your veterinarian. It is not a dosing guide or a treatment recommendation.

FIP is a serious disease that has historically been fatal when untreated. If your cat has fluid build-up in the abdomen or chest, fever, weight loss, or other concerning signs, see a veterinarian promptly for assessment rather than starting any antiviral on your own.

What molnupiravir is and why it is studied in cats

Molnupiravir is a nucleoside analogue, a class of antiviral drugs that is incorporated into the genetic material of a replicating virus and disrupts its copying. In cats it has been studied as a treatment for FIP, most often compared with GS-441524, the nucleoside analogue used as the comparator in the studies below. For that reason the two drugs should be read together: a molnupiravir result is usually a result against, or alongside, GS-441524.

Molnupiravir for cats: what the published studies show

Three sources carry most of the feline evidence. They differ considerably in design, so the table is the quickest way to see what each can and cannot tell you.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
#1 Best Overall
3ml Syringe for Liquid, Oral, Scientific Labs, Measurement, Dispensing, with Cap- 3 Pack 3ml Syringes
  • Small 3ml Syringe for Liquid, Oral, Scientific Labs, Measurement, Dispensing, with Cap
  • plastic syringes for liquid, measuring and dispensing fluids, lab use and experiments.
  • Individually sealed, clean, safe and sterile, good for pet oral feeding, essential oil, science lab, industrial, applications of inks, perfume, lubricants, sealants, etc.
  • Syringe with cap can be easy to use and storage liquid.
  • Warm note: the syringes are for industrial use only
Study Design Cats Reported outcome Main limitation
Reagan et al., Journal of Veterinary Internal Medicine, 2024 Open-label trial in naturally occurring effusive FIP; molnupiravir given as first-line treatment 10 treated; 10 historical GS-441524 controls 8 of 10 alive and in remission at 16 weeks; non-inferior to historical controls Very small; controls were historical, not concurrent or randomized
Sase et al., Frontiers in Veterinary Science, 2024 Single-center observational study in Japan 118 (59 per drug) Remission in 51 of 59 molnupiravir cats and 48 of 59 GS-441524 cats; no significant survival difference Treatment was not randomly assigned
Clark et al., Australian Veterinary Journal, 2025 Retrospective report 54 cases (according to the title) Not stated in the verifiable listing Outcome details not reported here

The open-label effusive FIP trial

Reagan and colleagues gave oral molnupiravir as first-line treatment to ten cats with naturally occurring effusive (wet) FIP and compared their outcomes with ten historical GS-441524 controls. The authors reported non-inferiority to the historical controls. Non-inferiority means the new treatment was not meaningfully worse than the comparison; it does not mean the two drugs were tested side by side. Because the controls came from earlier cases rather than being randomly assigned at the same time, the design cannot separate the drug’s effect from differences in patients, care, or timing. The authors concluded that “molnupiravir is an effective antiviral treatment for effusive FIP.” That claim rests on ten animals and should be read as promising rather than settled.

The Japanese observational cohort

Sase and colleagues compared 118 cats treated at a single Japanese center, 59 with each drug. Because treatment was not randomly assigned, the two groups may have differed in ways the authors could not control. Their conclusion was that “our data indicate that GS-441524 and molnupiravir show similar effects and safety in cats with FIP.” That is a finding about this cohort. It is not proof that the two drugs are interchangeable for every cat, every FIP presentation, or every clinic.

Rank #2
Sale
1ml Syringe Without Needle, 1ml Syringe for Liquids, Syringes for Scientific Labs, Measuring Liquids, Feeding Pets, 12 Pack Packaged
  • Specification:1 ml syringe with cap,12 pcs
  • Material:Made of high quality plastic,individually packaged,single-use
  • Characteristics:Smooth push rod,clear graduated line, accurate measurement
  • Use:Suitable for pet feeding,liquid and perfume transfer,adhesive projects,industrial adhesives,experimental use and industrial use,etc
  • Note:Plastic syringes are for industrial use only,this product is not intended for medical use

The 2025 guideline and the Australian retrospective report

The 2025 feline FIP guideline from the European Advisory Board on Cat Diseases (ABCD) summarizes the full feline evidence base: small case series, comparative observational work, and the open-label trial. It notes that the studies used variable formulations and protocols, and that larger studies with longer follow-up would help clarify where molnupiravir fits in treatment.

A 2025 retrospective report by Clark and colleagues in the Australian Veterinary Journal describes treatment in 54 cases, according to its title. Only the title and a search listing of that paper could be verified for this article, so its outcome figures are not reported here. Its listing mentions neutropenia and transient liver-enzyme elevations, which are discussed under side effects. Treat its specific results as provisional until you or your veterinarian have read the full paper.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #3
20 Pack 1ml Syringe for Liquid, 1cc Plastic Small Syringes for Scientific Labs, Measuring Liquids, Feeding Pets, Medical Student, Oil or Glue Applicator, Non-Sterile, No Needle
  • 【Widely Used】 High quality 1mL syringe for liquids, feeding orally, transferring, collecting, colostrum and baby medication for birds and cats.
  • 【More Options】 Also great for lab experiments, liquid and perfume transfers, gluing projects, electronic oils, industrial adhesives, and e-liquid measurements.
  • 【High Quality】Each syringe is made of 100% standard plastic, plastic box packaging, dustproof, easy to store and freezer safe.
  • 【Easy to use】 Mini syringe scale is clear and easy to read and control.
  • 【Sufficient quantity】 20 packs of high quality 1 ml plastic syringes measurements sufficient for use or replacement. (Warm note: the plastic syringes are for industrial use only)

Molnupiravir dosage for cats: what study protocols used

No single feline dose is established in published studies to date. The figures below describe what researchers gave in specific studies. They are not a recommendation for any individual cat.

Source Route and schedule Dose reported Treatment length How the dose was assigned
Sase et al., 2024 (Japanese cohort) Oral 20 to 40 mg/kg/day 84 days By disease type: effusive compared with ocular or neurologic signs
ABCD guideline (2025), summarizing other reports Oral, divided twice daily Varies by study and disease presentation; no single figure Often about 84 days Set by each study’s protocol
Reagan et al., 2024 (open-label trial) Oral Not stated in the available summary Not stated in the available summary Not stated in the available summary

Why study doses cannot be copied

  • Each protocol belongs to a specific study population and clinical team, with its own disease presentations and monitoring.
  • The guideline notes that formulations and protocols varied across studies, so a dose in one paper does not transfer cleanly to another product or cat.
  • A veterinarian decides the dose, formulation, duration, and monitoring plan for the individual cat, based on its disease presentation, body weight, and laboratory results.
  • Human tablets, online or unregulated products, and dose changes made by owners are not appropriate and should be avoided.

Molnupiravir side effects in cats

Side effects reported with molnupiravir in cats come from small or retrospective studies. They describe what has been observed, not how often it happens, and a cat may have none of them.

Rank #4
Pill Shooter for Dogs and Cats – Soft Tip Pet Piller for Easy Medication Delivery | Pill Gun Dispenser Tool for Small or Large Pets | Upgraded H- Bar Design Reusable Syringe Device – Blue, 1-Pack
  • Simple way to give tablets and capsules to pets without stress, biting, or spitting
  • Soft Silicone Tip Holds Pills Securely - Gentle split-tip grips tablets of various sizes without cracking or slipping—safe for small pets and firm enough for confident delivery.
  • Reusable and Easy to Clean - Built to last with durable materials that rinse clean after use—great for multi-pet households, clinics, rescues, and long-term medication schedules.
  • Pill Shooter Used by Veterinarians - Modeled after the same trusted style used in vet clinics—now upgraded for safer, easier home use by pet owners and animal caretakers.
  • Veterinary-Trusted Design in Convenient Pack Sizes - Get the proven style trusted by vets in 1, 4, or 12 packs—ideal for home use, rescues, clinics, breeders, and anyone managing multiple pets or treatments.
  • Transient increases in ALT and other lab abnormalities in the Japanese cohort. The authors described these as transient and resolving without specific intervention.
  • In the open-label trial, no biochemical or hematologic adverse event required stopping treatment.
  • Transient neutropenia (a low count of neutrophils, a type of white blood cell), elevated liver enzymes, and reduced appetite, as summarized in the ABCD guideline.
  • Nausea after administration, reported in a feline pharmacokinetic study summarized in the same guideline.
  • Neutropenia and transient liver-enzyme elevations, according to the summary listing of the 2025 Australian report.

Monitoring and when to call the veterinarian

  • Ask which bloodwork is planned and when. No universal laboratory schedule has been established in the studies to date.
  • Contact your veterinarian promptly if the cat stops eating, vomits, worsens, or develops new signs.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

How molnupiravir compares with GS-441524

Comparisons are only meaningful when they use the same axes:

  • Study design and strength of evidence
  • Disease presentation: effusive, non-effusive, ocular, or neurologic
  • Outcome definitions and length of follow-up
  • Safety observations
  • Formulation and local legal availability

The Japanese cohort found no significant survival difference between the drugs. The open-label trial reported non-inferiority only against historical controls. Neither design settles whether one drug is better, and neither supports calling either drug the best choice for all cats.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Best Value
1ml Syringe for Liquid, Oral, Scientific Labs, Measurement, Dispensing, with Cap- 3 Pack 1ml Syringes
  • 1ml Syringe for Liquid, Oral, Scientific Labs, Measurement, Dispensing, with Cap
  • Warm note: the syringes are for industrial use only

Legal status and access

The 2025 ABCD guideline states that no licensed molnupiravir product is available for use in cats, and that use is not legally permitted in every country. It identifies the European Union as a jurisdiction where, according to a 2023 reference it cites, the drug was listed as restricted to human use. That is a dated, jurisdiction-specific statement. Rules change, so confirm the current position with your national veterinary or medicines regulator and with your veterinarian before making any decision about where a drug would come from.

Quick Recap

Bestseller No. 1
3ml Syringe for Liquid, Oral, Scientific Labs, Measurement, Dispensing, with Cap- 3 Pack 3ml Syringes
3ml Syringe for Liquid, Oral, Scientific Labs, Measurement, Dispensing, with Cap- 3 Pack 3ml Syringes
Small 3ml Syringe for Liquid, Oral, Scientific Labs, Measurement, Dispensing, with Cap; plastic syringes for liquid, measuring and dispensing fluids, lab use and experiments.
$4.99
SaleBestseller No. 2
1ml Syringe Without Needle, 1ml Syringe for Liquids, Syringes for Scientific Labs, Measuring Liquids, Feeding Pets, 12 Pack Packaged
1ml Syringe Without Needle, 1ml Syringe for Liquids, Syringes for Scientific Labs, Measuring Liquids, Feeding Pets, 12 Pack Packaged
Specification:1 ml syringe with cap,12 pcs; Material:Made of high quality plastic,individually packaged,single-use
$5.99
Bestseller No. 5
1ml Syringe for Liquid, Oral, Scientific Labs, Measurement, Dispensing, with Cap- 3 Pack 1ml Syringes
1ml Syringe for Liquid, Oral, Scientific Labs, Measurement, Dispensing, with Cap- 3 Pack 1ml Syringes
1ml Syringe for Liquid, Oral, Scientific Labs, Measurement, Dispensing, with Cap; Warm note: the syringes are for industrial use only
$4.99

Questions to ask your veterinarian

  • Which study protocol informs your plan, and how does it fit this cat’s disease presentation?
  • Where would the drug come from, and is that source legal for cats in our country?
  • How long is the planned course, and what result would lead you to change or stop it?
  • If the cat is not improving at the planned review point, what happens next, and how does molnupiravir compare with GS-441524 for this case?

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More from Field Notes

  1. Entry 01Disaster Preparedness for Pets: What to Plan and PackBreeding6 min
  2. Entry 02Holiday Pet Safety Tips: How to Keep Dogs and Cats Safe Through the HolidaysBreeding7 min
  3. Entry 03What to Buy for a New Rescue Dog: A First-Week Essentials GuideBreeding3 min
Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.