October DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsWindows FixRecommendedWindows errors stealing your time? Find the fix fastScan stability, cleanup and performance issues.Fix NowOctober DealsAmazon USDeal season is back - check today's better picksAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
Skip to content
Entry 411Filed under Breeding

Where Cats Are Prohibited Under South Perth’s Cats Local Law

South Perth’s cat law applies to designated Schedule 1 locations, not the whole City. Learn where the rule applies, when it took effect and what owners should know.
3-minute read By Animalso Team

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

South Perth does not ban cats from roaming everywhere in the City. Its Cats Local Law 2024 prohibits cats from entering the specific places listed in Schedule 1 unless the City has given written authorisation. The law took effect on 4 December 2024; an amendment came into force on 27 February 2026.

Where does South Perth prohibit cats?

The rule applies to the locations described in Schedule 1 of the City’s local-laws page and the gazetted Cats Local Law 2024. The schedule covers designated bushland, foreshore, parks, lakes, wetlands and embankments, including Andrew Thomson Conservation Reserve, Bodkin Park, Challenger Reserve, Collier Park Golf Course, Como Beach Foreshore, Cygnia Cove Wetlands, Lake Doneraile, Sir James Mitchell Park locations, Manning Bushland, Millers Pool, Mt Henry Road Reserve, Neil McDougall Park, Redmond Foreshore, Salter Point Lagoon, and Sandon Park and Foreshore.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

The headline figure of 27 is not an independently verified count in the legal schedule. Schedule 1 combines named places, lot boundaries and map references; it does not state that there are 27 separate areas. For a specific spot, check the schedule’s legal description rather than relying only on a place name or map image. The law says its maps are for visual guidance.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What does the law require?

Clause 4.2(1) states: “Unless in accordance with written authorisation from the local government a cat must not be in a cat prohibited area at any time.” The prohibition is tied to those specified locations; it is not a City-wide ban on outdoor access.

#1 Best Overall
Nature's Miracle Advanced Platinum No More Spraying Training Spray, 24 oz
  • HELPS DISCOURAGE REPETITIVE SPRAYING: Formulated to deter cats from revisiting and spraying the same spot twice
  • FOR INDOOR TRAINING: Ideal solution when trying to break cats’ spraying behaviors
  • REPELLENT SCENT FORMULATED WITH ESSENTIAL OILS: Repellent scent deters cats from returning to the treated area
  • SAFE FOR PETS AND HOME: Safe for pets and home when used as directed
  • TRUSTED BRAND: From the maker of Nature’s Miracle products, the pet stain and odor removing brand you trust…because it works!

The law also sets a standard maximum of three cats at residential premises, with exceptions and the possibility of approval for additional cats. That separate limit does not change which places are cat-prohibited. The City’s local-laws page lists one penalty unit as $13, while Schedule 2 specifies 15 penalty units for a cat in a prohibited area and notes the unit value as at 1 June 2024. Check the current penalty-unit value before relying on a dollar conversion.

When did the law and amendment take effect?

The Cats Local Law 2024 took effect on 4 December 2024, according to the City’s adoption notice. Council adopted the Cats Amendment Local Law 2025 on 16 December 2025. It was gazetted on 13 February 2026 and came into operation on 27 February 2026, as described in the City’s amendment notice and sealed law.

Rank #2
Nature's Miracle Cat Scratch Deterrent Spray, 8 oz
  • CAT SCRATCHING DETERRENT: Specifically formulated to discourage destructive scratching throughout the home
  • SAFE FOR USE ON FURNITURE, FABRIC AND MORE: Designed for indoor use, safe for use on furniture, fabric and more when used and stored as directed
  • FORMULATED WITH ESSENTIAL OILS: Repellent scent formulated with essential oils
  • SAFE FOR PETS AND HOME: Safe for pets and home when used as directed
  • TRUSTED BRAND: From the maker of Nature’s Miracle products, the pet stain and odor removing brand you trust… because it works!

The amendment makes drafting and cross-reference changes, including correcting the name “Gentilli Boat Ramp Foreshore” and updating a regulation reference. It followed undertakings to the Joint Standing Committee on Delegated Legislation and was intended to align the local law with the Cat Act 2011. The prohibited-area framework was already part of the 2024 law.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What happens if a cat is in a prohibited area?

An owner commits an offence if their cat is in a prohibited area contrary to the rule. The law also allows an authorised person to seize and remove the cat under the Cat Act. Schedule 2 sets the penalty at 15 penalty units; the dollar amount depends on the applicable value of a penalty unit.

Rank #3
Nature's Miracle Cat Pet Block Repellent Spray, for Indoor Training, 8 oz
  • FORMULATED TO HELP KEEP PETS AWAY FROM TREATED AREAS: Repellent scent acts as a signal telling cats to stay away from the treated areas
  • FOR INDOOR TRAINING: Formulated to help keep cats out of unwanted areas and off unwanted surfaces
  • FORMULATED WITH ESSENTIAL OILS: Repellent scent formulated with essential oils
  • SAFE FOR PETS AND HOMES: When used and stored as directed, this formula can be used safely around your pets and home
  • TRUSTED BRAND: From the maker of Nature’s Miracle products, the pet stain and odor removing brand you trust… because it works!

The City says its trapping program operates in the areas listed under the local law and focuses on semi-feral and undomesticated cats. It says rangers use cage traps checked twice daily, scan registered cats for microchips and contact owners to arrange collection. The City also says captured wildlife is released immediately.

According to the City, impounded cats are assessed for possible transfer to a rescue organisation, and euthanasia is a last resort for cats not considered suitable for rehoming. That is the City’s description of its program; being trapped does not mean a cat is automatically euthanised. See the City’s cat-trapping program page for its account of how the program operates.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

How can owners check a location or keep a cat contained?

  1. Check Schedule 1. Use the legal description in the Cats Local Law 2024 to identify the relevant land or boundary; treat maps as guidance.
  2. Distinguish location rules from household limits. The prohibited-area rule applies to listed places. The separate residential limit is ordinarily three cats, subject to exceptions and approval.
  3. Keep the cat out of prohibited locations. Home containment, such as an outdoor cat enclosure or catio, is an optional practical approach, not a purchase required by the local law.
  4. Seek written authorisation if needed. The prohibited-area rule allows an exception only where the local government has provided written authorisation.

Why does the City run a trapping program?

The City says the program aims to protect native wildlife and improve biodiversity. Its program page attributes wildlife-impact figures to the WA Department of Primary Industries and Regional Development, but does not state the figures’ publication year or link to the original department material. Those figures therefore should not be read as independently confirmed current statistics.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Quick Recap

Bestseller No. 1
Nature's Miracle Advanced Platinum No More Spraying Training Spray, 24 oz
Nature's Miracle Advanced Platinum No More Spraying Training Spray, 24 oz
FOR INDOOR TRAINING: Ideal solution when trying to break cats’ spraying behaviors; SAFE FOR PETS AND HOME: Safe for pets and home when used as directed
$12.72
Bestseller No. 2
Nature's Miracle Cat Scratch Deterrent Spray, 8 oz
Nature's Miracle Cat Scratch Deterrent Spray, 8 oz
FORMULATED WITH ESSENTIAL OILS: Repellent scent formulated with essential oils; SAFE FOR PETS AND HOME: Safe for pets and home when used as directed
$8.99
Bestseller No. 3
Nature's Miracle Cat Pet Block Repellent Spray, for Indoor Training, 8 oz
Nature's Miracle Cat Pet Block Repellent Spray, for Indoor Training, 8 oz
FORMULATED WITH ESSENTIAL OILS: Repellent scent formulated with essential oils
$8.12

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More from Field Notes

  1. Entry 01Disaster Preparedness for Pets: What to Plan and PackBreeding6 min
  2. Entry 02Holiday Pet Safety Tips: How to Keep Dogs and Cats Safe Through the HolidaysBreeding7 min
  3. Entry 03What to Buy for a New Rescue Dog: A First-Week Essentials GuideBreeding3 min
Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.